URL Auto login not working...

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by 2000GT, Feb 3, 2004.

  1. 2000GT

    2000GT Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2001
    Messages:
    5,771
    Likes Received:
    7
    Location:
    Vancouver
    I have a link that I always goto that looks something like this:

    http://login:[email protected]

    Everytime I go to it now, I get a page cannot be displayed error. If I strip the url to just www.url.com, I get a prompt asking for the username and pass. I enter it in the box, and I am accepted into the website.

    Up until today the page has always been able to automatically except the url string from above. Why would this change. There site has not changed, as I have spoken with there webmaster - the link is the same on my side too???

    (Whats even weirder is one computer on my side can login with the link but the others can't?!?!!?)
     
  2. ins3cure

    ins3cure Old School Noob

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2003
    Messages:
    155
    Likes Received:
    0
  3. shastaisforwinners

    shastaisforwinners OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2003
    Messages:
    2,820
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    Paramore
    yep, you can't login like that anymore

    leave it to ms to just get rid of the functionality instead of fixing the problem
     
  4. 2000GT

    2000GT Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2001
    Messages:
    5,771
    Likes Received:
    7
    Location:
    Vancouver
    Is there any work around? I need to do a automatic login or something quick and easy??

    Just read up on Microsoft Internet Transfer Control ;)
     
    Last edited: Feb 3, 2004
  5. shastaisforwinners

    shastaisforwinners OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2003
    Messages:
    2,820
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    Paramore
    option 1: I would recommend using (mozilla) Firebird as your browser. No login problem, tabbed browsing, smaller, just all in all a better browser.

    option 2: put in your username and password in the box, then click "save my password" (or whatever it says) in the login box. If it's not a windows-type login box (such as html), then you may have the option to store your username / password as a cookie
     
  6. 2000GT

    2000GT Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2001
    Messages:
    5,771
    Likes Received:
    7
    Location:
    Vancouver
    Well, wish it was that easy... I run the IT dept in a call centre and browsers are built into the proprietary software that we use. Each agent computer has a Group Policy it runs on and the browser window (IE built in) is refreshed and cleared every call.

    Any other ideas?
     
  7. 5Gen_Prelude

    5Gen_Prelude There might not be an "I" in the word "Team", but

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2000
    Messages:
    14,519
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC, CANADA

Share This Page