UPS battery monitoring for apc rs series

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by keleko, Nov 13, 2006.

  1. keleko

    keleko yes, he is

    Joined:
    May 22, 2005
    Messages:
    28,741
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    lauderhill, fl
    neither the personal or network versions of their software will allow monitoring of more than 1 of this series battery

    googling only shows an ass-load of places to buy one

    i'm looking for something 3rd party that will allow me to monitor as many as i plug in (and monitor via usb), currently 2 maybe a third to come along

    already contacted apc and they say their software will only see one (duh, i already figured that part out)


    :dunno:
     
  2. keleko

    keleko yes, he is

    Joined:
    May 22, 2005
    Messages:
    28,741
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    lauderhill, fl
    anyone?
     
  3. keleko

    keleko yes, he is

    Joined:
    May 22, 2005
    Messages:
    28,741
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    lauderhill, fl
  4. deusexaethera

    deusexaethera OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2005
    Messages:
    19,712
    Likes Received:
    0
    Have you tried APC PowerChute? That's what we use at my office.

    Either way, I think you'll just have to pony up and buy the software, or else dedicate a different PowerChute server for each battery.

    Maybe there's a way to daisy-chain the batteries together, so they show up as one huge battery instead of several smaller ones.
     
  5. keleko

    keleko yes, he is

    Joined:
    May 22, 2005
    Messages:
    28,741
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    lauderhill, fl
    tried both personal and buziness ed's of the powerchute software

    personal will only see one, biz ed won't see either at all, and i don't have/need another pc in the space i have just to run the dinky lil monitoring app

    and no, can't daisy-chain them :-/
     
  6. deusexaethera

    deusexaethera OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2005
    Messages:
    19,712
    Likes Received:
    0
    Sounds like a shortcoming in the system, then. You know, the battery will still work even if it's not monitored.

    Hook the secondary battery up to the monitor just long enough to tell it to run itself dry when the power goes out, then plug the primary battery into the secondary battery. Connect the primary battery to the monitor and configure it however you like.

    Power:
    powerstrip -> primary battery -> secondary battery -> wall

    Data:
    monitor -> primary battery -> powerstrip -> UPS clients
     
  7. keleko

    keleko yes, he is

    Joined:
    May 22, 2005
    Messages:
    28,741
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    lauderhill, fl
    well, yeah, of course

    it'll do that by itself anyway

    this is NOT a good idea, surge or backup side
    from what i know, and according to mfr specs for this series battery

    que?
    both have a cat5/usb cable that plugs into a usb port, only 1 is able to be monitored by the powerchute personal software (exec/biz/network ed's don't even see it)
     
  8. deusexaethera

    deusexaethera OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2005
    Messages:
    19,712
    Likes Received:
    0
    Guess you're screwed then. Sorry.
     
  9. cmsurfer

    cmsurfer ºllllllº

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2003
    Messages:
    5,079
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    NJ
    What exactly are you trying to do? Hook up 2 UPS's to one machine?
     
  10. keleko

    keleko yes, he is

    Joined:
    May 22, 2005
    Messages:
    28,741
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    lauderhill, fl
    monitor two or more apc back-ups rs series batteries via one pc

    without hacking into the powerchute personal ed. software, it seems it can't be done
    looking for a 3rd party app that might be able to do it
     
  11. RyanL

    RyanL OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2004
    Messages:
    4,584
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    St. Paul, MN
    I know that you can do it under linux with the third party software there is out there.
     
  12. keleko

    keleko yes, he is

    Joined:
    May 22, 2005
    Messages:
    28,741
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    lauderhill, fl
    except i don't run linux


    what's that software? maybe there's an x86 port for it?
     
  13. RyanL

    RyanL OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2004
    Messages:
    4,584
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    St. Paul, MN
    im not sure :o

    i was looking at it a while ago, i highly doubt there is a port however, it was tried pretty deep into linux it seemed...
     
  14. keleko

    keleko yes, he is

    Joined:
    May 22, 2005
    Messages:
    28,741
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    lauderhill, fl
    damn....

    guess i bought the wrong batteries then

    but APC customer support FTMFW (this all started as a result of one of them dieing less than a year after i bought it)
     

Share This Page