UPS Back Ups

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by LIQUID, Jun 10, 2004.

  1. LIQUID

    LIQUID #HarambeBless

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2001
    Messages:
    39,981
    Likes Received:
    172
    Location:
    By the ocean, FL
    Question...the other day I was looking at some battery backups and was wondering how much power I will need?? (the wattage)

    Do I need something equivelant or greater than what my computers power supply is?

    I want to also connect my monitor to it as well :)

    also what brands do you recommend?
     
  2. cmsurfer

    cmsurfer ºllllllº

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2003
    Messages:
    5,079
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    NJ
    We use APC's at work and they are great. I'm not too sure on the wattage, but their sole purpose is to allow you to save your work and then shut down the machine. I would take a look and see how much time you think that would take.

    I don't think I would ever need one at home, but to each his own...
     
  3. mdaniel

    mdaniel S is for Shiksa

    Joined:
    May 6, 2000
    Messages:
    52,382
    Likes Received:
    257
    Location:
    Northwest Mejicooooooo
    I have one at home and its great not having to worry when the power flickers. For a typical setup, a 500VA UPS will give you enough time to get shut down. Most UPS's come with a cable and software to automate the process if the power goes out when you're not home.
     
  4. LIQUID

    LIQUID #HarambeBless

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2001
    Messages:
    39,981
    Likes Received:
    172
    Location:
    By the ocean, FL
    The only reason I ask is because I live in tornado land

    spring thru early fall we have storms/tornados/etc....

    btw the power supply in my PC is 550 Watts...i know i dont utilize it all

    i was looking at an UPS backup that was like 200 or 300 watts that said it would do 19 minutes...plenty of time to shut down :cool: but i want to make sure its enough power to handle the load of my gaming pc
     
  5. Scoob_13

    Scoob_13 Anything is possible, but the odds are astronomica

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2001
    Messages:
    73,784
    Likes Received:
    38
    Location:
    Fort Worth. Hooray cowgirls.
  6. LIQUID

    LIQUID #HarambeBless

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2001
    Messages:
    39,981
    Likes Received:
    172
    Location:
    By the ocean, FL
    :cool:
     
  7. 5Gen_Prelude

    5Gen_Prelude There might not be an "I" in the word "Team", but

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2000
    Messages:
    14,519
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC, CANADA
    FYI, the monitor is what kills the battery. I use a SmartUPS1400 at work and there's a huge difference in available power with the monitor connected. Keep that in mind if you ever use a UPS for server aps.
     
  8. DatacomGuy

    DatacomGuy is moving to Canada

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2002
    Messages:
    16,546
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Tampa, FL
    I use a 650 at home for two pc's and some accessories. I don't put the monitors or the printers on them.
     
  9. DatacomGuy

    DatacomGuy is moving to Canada

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2002
    Messages:
    16,546
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Tampa, FL
    Thanks for stealing my avatar. :rolleyes:
     
  10. mdaniel

    mdaniel S is for Shiksa

    Joined:
    May 6, 2000
    Messages:
    52,382
    Likes Received:
    257
    Location:
    Northwest Mejicooooooo
    So what if the power goes down for the count? Do you just sit there in the dark and hope the automated shutdown software saves everything since you can't see anything without the monitors?
     
  11. Aimless

    Aimless Resident drunkey

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2001
    Messages:
    2,534
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Wisconsin
    That's the model I have at home. It provides enough juice to run my comp, monitor, and speakers for 45 minutes. Plenty of time to play Five's "When the Lights Go Out" a few times through. People in the other apartments really enjoy that :mamoru:
     
  12. DatacomGuy

    DatacomGuy is moving to Canada

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2002
    Messages:
    16,546
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Tampa, FL
    I don't worry about it all that much, its more as a "crash protection" setup then anything else.. 99% of the time, the power just flicks off and then back on again.. this way the machines never turn off...

    Plus the monitors eat up too much juice..
     
  13. eighteen_psi

    eighteen_psi Active Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2003
    Messages:
    2,381
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    925
    (2) APC Smart UPS 1000VA (2U Rackmount) and (1) APC Smart UPS 400 (desktop) keep my dually, 2 monitors and all associated gear up for nearly an hour. <3 UPS!

    Best tech investment ever if you have to get work done on your computer.
     

Share This Page