Upgrading my computer, did i do ok?

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by Eat Shit, Sep 2, 2007.

  1. Eat Shit

    Eat Shit OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Messages:
    3,046
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    atx
    Curious how much my new parts will make a difference and how good they are, Maybe i should have gotten something else?

    To start I have a gateway about a year and half old. Over the last year i put a few things in it.

    nvidia 7300 gt video card
    3gb of ram
    A giant heatsink fan thats super duper quiet
    antec 900 case.
    a 2nd 200gb SATA drive, it came with one. Also have a external 200gb ide drive
    a cheapy 450w power supply, it came in another case i had.
    Its got one DVD R/RW drive and another DVDRom, dont remember exactly what they are.


    today i just bought a Intel duo core e6550 and an Asus p5k-e board for $300
    Also got 2gb of corsair 800mhz ddr2 memory.

    So after that, wont really be a gateway anymore.. Should it be a decent system?
    Am i going to see a big difference in performance with the board and CPU?
    I dont do too much gaming, I play BF2 once in a while.
    Listen to a lot of music and stream Movies to my Tv in the living room.
    sorry if i sound retarded, first PC ive ever messed with or built.

    Im about to install the Board and CPU, so hopefully it goes well.
     
  2. Doc Brown

    Doc Brown Don't make me make you my hobby

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2006
    Messages:
    16,404
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ohio
    If you got the board and cpu for $300, then you got a good deal.

    You didn't say what the old cpu was, so I can't guess how big of a difference you'll see, but the E6550 is a 4mb C2D, so that's for sure going to kick some butt.

    I would say you should hunt down a proper psu instead of the old cheapo 450 watter, as soon as you can afford to.

    This site has a good list of psu's for under $150, starting at $72.

    http://www.jonnyguru.net/forums/showthread.php?t=1460
     
  3. Eat Shit

    Eat Shit OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Messages:
    3,046
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    atx
    cool thanks, the old cpue is pentium 4 900mhz processor If i recall.

    Put everything in and she seemed good. Booted to my Windows Vista dvd and it freezes. doesnt load anything from the DVD. so kinda stuck, had to put old cpu and board back in for now
     
  4. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    they never made a p4 900MHz.
     
  5. Eat Shit

    Eat Shit OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Messages:
    3,046
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    atx
    p4 3.00 ghz. sorry
     
  6. Doc Brown

    Doc Brown Don't make me make you my hobby

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2006
    Messages:
    16,404
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ohio
    That could be a conflict with your older ide burner.

    Get an sata burner, and you'll probably be good to go.

    At the worst, it will only cost you $30 for one from newegg.

    Here's a pretty safe list to choose from.

    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produ...odeValue=371:27054&PropertyCodeValue=384:6820
     

Share This Page