Upgrading HDD in MBP Question

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by Ant, Sep 28, 2008.

  1. Ant

    Ant Serious Business.

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2005
    Messages:
    219
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Tampa
    So I'm putting a 320gb 7200rpm drive in the MBP to replace the 160gb....can I just boot from the old drive in a USB external case, and use Superduper, or CCC to clone it back to the new installed drive, or do I have to get a firewire enclosure, mirror the drive, then boot from the mirror, then clone it back to the new drive.

    I've heard that you can boot to USB even though it's not officially supported.
     
  2. mds2004

    mds2004 OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    Messages:
    10,600
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Bakersfield, CA
    I bought a 320gb HD and put it into an external exclosure. I then used super duper to clone my HD to the external and then put the HD from the external into the laptop. Viola.
     
  3. Ant

    Ant Serious Business.

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2005
    Messages:
    219
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Tampa
    Did you use USB, or FireWire?
     
  4. robwormald

    robwormald New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2002
    Messages:
    33,035
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    ATX
    usb will work but its the slower option

    you could also stick the new one in the enclosure, boot to your install discs and use Disk Utility in there to do the clone, that way you're not running off either drive.
     
  5. mds2004

    mds2004 OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    Messages:
    10,600
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Bakersfield, CA
    USB.
     
  6. Ant

    Ant Serious Business.

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2005
    Messages:
    219
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Tampa
    Just wanted to thank you's guys....Shit is working lovely. hooked up the new drive to the external USB, ran CCC, test booted, then installed it...works like a charm!
     

Share This Page