Upgrading from 3Gb pc5300 to 4Gb pc6400

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by cleankutazn, Dec 12, 2007.

  1. cleankutazn

    cleankutazn New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2007
    Messages:
    158
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'm using vista32 and wanted to know if upgrading would make any difference in games? Or should I just save my money for something else
     
  2. deusexaethera

    deusexaethera OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2005
    Messages:
    19,712
    Likes Received:
    0
    It might make a difference, but you need to check your memory usage when you're running games, before you drop cash on more RAM you might not need.
     
  3. cleankutazn

    cleankutazn New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2007
    Messages:
    158
    Likes Received:
    0
    I think i have enough ram, im wondering if the speed increase of 800mhz from 667mhz will make a difference.
     
  4. DAN513

    DAN513 OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2003
    Messages:
    10,089
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    204
    not likely.


    I'm a huge gamer and I've found that the biggest pigs when it comes to ram are using between 700-800mb at a time, stuff like NFS Pro street, Crysis and COD4.

    Don't forget that you won't be able to use the full 4GB under a 32bit OS anyways, you're going to be limited to between 3 and 3.5GB depending on which video card you have. On my system, I have 4 1GB stick and with my 768MB GTX, my system sees 3.0GB of ram.
     
  5. cleankutazn

    cleankutazn New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2007
    Messages:
    158
    Likes Received:
    0
    I guess ill buy something else than with the money...thanks
     

Share This Page