@*#&$!! Upgraded to PHP 4.3 :(

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by Joe_Cool, Apr 10, 2004.

  1. Joe_Cool

    Joe_Cool Never trust a woman or a government. Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2003
    Messages:
    299,206
    Likes Received:
    518
    So I upgraded my server to PHP 4.3 last week, and now I realize that none of my php pages are working.

    So I check the php support boards, and find this:
    So now I have to go through all of the code on my site and change ALL the global variable names, after determining whether they should be called as $_SERVER["name"], $_GET["name"], $_POST["name"] instead of $name.

    :madfawk:
     
  2. Joe_Cool

    Joe_Cool Never trust a woman or a government. Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2003
    Messages:
    299,206
    Likes Received:
    518
    Or I could just set register_globals to "on" in /etc/php.ini, but still. This pisses me off.
     
  3. SLED

    SLED build an idiot proof device and someone else will

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2001
    Messages:
    28,118
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    AZ, like a bauce!
    i was just going to suggest that. seems like an easy solution.
     
  4. TheDarkHorizon

    TheDarkHorizon \xC0\xFF\xEE

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2002
    Messages:
    2,396
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    San Francisco, CA
    It's very easy to change that, though most people would recommend that you don't register_globals, especially if security is a concern for you. You can use ini_set() to change it without modifying php.ini.
     
  5. pipplo

    pipplo Whistle fan

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2002
    Messages:
    2,789
    Likes Received:
    0
    This is actually a good thing prevent variables from being set somewhere else adn being used by your script, albeit definitely annoying

    I'm going to have to go through this soon
     

Share This Page