Upgraded memory and now CS:S crashes

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by Parabellum, Jun 24, 2007.

  1. Parabellum

    Parabellum Molon Labe!

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2004
    Messages:
    18,089
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    A few weeks ago slickdeals had a deal on crucial memory from new egg so I bought two 512mb of crucial pc3200 memory to add to my 512mb of pc2700 memory.

    The only problem I'm having is when playing Counter Strike source I get a blue screen of death. I can play for a few hours and then it crashes.

    The error message says it's a video card problem but it only started happening after I upgraded the memory.

    Could it really be the video card or is it the memory?

    What do I have to do to isolate the problem?

    My video card is an old geforce4 4200ti so I know it's on it's last legs so would just buying a new video card be a good idea?
     
  2. DAN513

    DAN513 OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2003
    Messages:
    10,089
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    204
    http://www.memtest86.com/memtest86-3.3.iso.zip

    Download that, extract the .iso file, burn it to a cd and let it run (I usually aim for 5-10 passes). If you get any errors, pull out the new ram and run it again, if you still get errors, pull out your old ram and try just the new stuff. That should isolate which ram is bad.
     
  3. RiSk

    RiSk New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2004
    Messages:
    6,564
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Irving, Texas
    it could blame the video card driver as it loads its self up into memory and if the memory is shit it could cause a dump and cause it to die...
     
  4. mattATX

    mattATX OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2003
    Messages:
    6,913
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    ATX
    I would run memtest like dan513 said. It might be that the sticks don't work well together. Or you could have a bad stick.
     
  5. Parabellum

    Parabellum Molon Labe!

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2004
    Messages:
    18,089
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Los Angeles
  6. D1G1T4L

    D1G1T4L Active Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2001
    Messages:
    16,489
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Bay Area
    i hate ram problems
     
  7. A Cow

    A Cow OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2005
    Messages:
    33,035
    Likes Received:
    97
    Location:
    Vancouver BC
    your running 2 diffrent types of ram.. that is bad....

    try pulling one stick out.. and play.. if it works
    pull it out and swap it..


    if it works.. you has bad ram
     
  8. Jay487

    Jay487 What's Life If You Ain't Enjoyin' It?

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2001
    Messages:
    4,126
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Syracuse, NY
    id keep toying with the memory before buying a new video card... go back to your original setup of ram before upgrading it and see if you get the BSOD.. then take that stick out and play with 1 stick of the new, and repeat. if you can consistently get the bsod with just one stick, that stick is bad or incompatible somehow. (may be both of the new ones)

    also i cant remember how long 8 passes takes but i usually start a memtest before i go to bed and check it in the morning.... wouldnt hurt (try it with all sticks first, if you get any errors, your video card is more than likely fine)
     
  9. Parabellum

    Parabellum Molon Labe!

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2004
    Messages:
    18,089
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    Yeah I started it last night and left it running till about noon today and got no errors.
     

Share This Page