Upgrade: XP Home or Pro

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by rzklkng, Oct 8, 2003.

?

Which XP OS?

  1. XP Home

    11.1%
  2. XP Pro

    88.9%
  1. rzklkng

    rzklkng "A republic, madam, if you can keep it"

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2003
    Messages:
    6,372
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Philly Burbs
    I think it's time to move from Win98SE. No Linux, I'm staying in the MSoft world. Would would you go to and why?

    AMD 2500 XP
    512MB RAM
    120GB HD
    60GB HD
    ASUS AN78X-Deluxe Mobo
    Internal Zip 250
    Internal Floppy
    CD-ROM
    CD-RW
    Brother HL-1240 laser printer
    Canon S520 color printer
    Canon N676U Scanner
    Wacom Pen Partner
    Palm m515
    Cable Modem
     
  2. Indy Jones

    Indy Jones SURPRISE!

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2002
    Messages:
    5,890
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Toronto, Ontario
    Pro. Because it just seems that you're going to need the extra features of Pro that will probably come in handy later.
     
  3. Rob

    Rob OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2002
    Messages:
    88,621
    Likes Received:
    39
    Location:
    Atlanta, GA
    If price doesnt matter than pro. I have never used home, so I am not sure of the differences.
     
  4. Zourn

    Zourn 16-bit Ninja OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2002
    Messages:
    2,354
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Texas
    the only actual difference i have heard of between the two is that home does not support multiple CPU's, so based on that i would say home.
    But as mentioned by rob, if price doesn't matter, splurge for pro, if for no other reason than for the absolute hell of it.
     
  5. CyberBullets

    CyberBullets I reach to the sky, and call out your name. If I c

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2001
    Messages:
    11,865
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    BC, Canada/Stockholm, Sweden
    home supports Hyper Threading though.
     
  6. Zourn

    Zourn 16-bit Ninja OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2002
    Messages:
    2,354
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Texas
    yes, but HT != 2 CPUs
     
  7. Mugatu

    Mugatu Ask me about market research. OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2001
    Messages:
    245,192
    Likes Received:
    0
  8. CyberBullets

    CyberBullets I reach to the sky, and call out your name. If I c

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2001
    Messages:
    11,865
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    BC, Canada/Stockholm, Sweden
    acts like it is though...
     
  9. Zourn

    Zourn 16-bit Ninja OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2002
    Messages:
    2,354
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Texas
    Yeah, Pro is required for two or more Hardware CPU's. Software emulated CPU's don't count.
     
  10. Zourn

    Zourn 16-bit Ninja OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2002
    Messages:
    2,354
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Texas
    i would change my vote to Pro if the price difference doesn't bother you, for the fact of integrated IIS and Remote Desktop.

    dammit, now i want to upgrade to pro.
     
  11. CyberBullets

    CyberBullets I reach to the sky, and call out your name. If I c

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2001
    Messages:
    11,865
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    BC, Canada/Stockholm, Sweden
    wow ur brave enough to support IIS? wow.... :wiggle:
     
  12. Zourn

    Zourn 16-bit Ninja OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2002
    Messages:
    2,354
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Texas
    not support, play with.
     
  13. kellyclan

    kellyclan She only loves you when she's drunk.

    Joined:
    May 16, 2001
    Messages:
    18,944
    Likes Received:
    0
    XP Pro doesn't support HT?
     
  14. ChosenGSR

    ChosenGSR Mama always said you'd be the chosen one

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2001
    Messages:
    51,078
    Likes Received:
    236
    Location:
    HoCo, MD
    If you are doing any kind of web programming, you will want PRO. My laptop came with the home edition and when I tried to put VS.Net on it, it choked because you cannot put IIS on the home edition.
     
  15. Rob

    Rob OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2002
    Messages:
    88,621
    Likes Received:
    39
    Location:
    Atlanta, GA

    It does. ;)
     
  16. CyberBullets

    CyberBullets I reach to the sky, and call out your name. If I c

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2001
    Messages:
    11,865
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    BC, Canada/Stockholm, Sweden
    u dont need iis, u need the fp extentions.
     
  17. Duke Skywalker

    Duke Skywalker OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2003
    Messages:
    874
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Central California
    I hate whoever voted for home edition. :mad:
     
  18. CyberBullets

    CyberBullets I reach to the sky, and call out your name. If I c

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2001
    Messages:
    11,865
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    BC, Canada/Stockholm, Sweden
    that would be our 16 bit ninja Zourn.... :eek3:
     
  19. Zourn

    Zourn 16-bit Ninja OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2002
    Messages:
    2,354
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Texas
    read bich
     
  20. Darkwind

    Darkwind Guest

    GO PRO, unless ur cheap and dont like to waste money buy home. i still think u should get pro
     
  21. MegaKrag

    MegaKrag Guest

    Definately Pro... you're downloading it right?
     
  22. MegaKrag

    MegaKrag Guest

    alright, who voted home???
     
  23. Rob

    Rob OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2002
    Messages:
    88,621
    Likes Received:
    39
    Location:
    Atlanta, GA
    Alright, who bumped this thread from months ago? Ahh I know. :squint:
     

Share This Page