Updating my 'maaco' thread. Got some pics. **PICS**

Discussion in 'That'll Buff Right Out' started by Mycophiles, Feb 27, 2010.

1. Mycophiles

Mycophiles OT Supporter

If feels like yesterday but about 2 months ago I started painting my car. I was originally planning on taking the car to maaco and doing the work myself but I figured I could paint it myself since my buddy and I were both having our cars painted and save money. (and boy was I right about the money part. We'll come out about 1300 bucks put into the whole thing. )

I've digressed a bit. Let me go back to when I decided to paint the car myself. Once I got a compressor that was able to run a DA and spray gun the deal was clenched and we were in it for the long haul. What I didn't know is how much milarky (yes I used the work milarky) there was in the shadow world of 'painting'. ... such as "you have to have a DA" This is such utter bull:q:q:q:q I don't know where to start. .. so I won't. Then there is the 'miss-information' about how to prep and how to paint. This is where the boys and the men are separated. In painting you HAVE to follow the instructions. You HAVE to read the directions (and follow them) You HAVE to be clean. You HAVE to be patient and methodical. You HAVE to be fearful of the chemicals you are using. And further there is the unending versions of painting processes. Everyone, and I mean EVERYONE has their own technique that works for THEM. ( so the question is how are you going to find what works for you when you are only painting one car huh? .. good question huh? and probably the biggest deterrent to people painting their own cars. Bunch of chickens running around with their heads cut off saying "WHO'S SUGGESTIONS DO I FOLLOW!".