Upconverting DVD player

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by riven, Nov 25, 2006.

  1. riven

    riven Push the envelope. Watch it bend.

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2004
    Messages:
    16,871
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Pu-lol-up, WA
    If my player can upconvert while using a HDMI cable will it still upconvert while using a HDMI to DVI if my TV doesn't have HDMI?
     
  2. GlocksRock

    GlocksRock Glock > You

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2003
    Messages:
    6,647
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    North Carolina
    Yes, it just has to be a digital connection because of the HDCP protection.
     
  3. Moistfly

    Moistfly Anal Bum Cover

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2001
    Messages:
    12,434
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Texas
    I've never heard of a DVD that has HDCP enabled on it, and at this point even BD and HD DVD don't anyway.
     
  4. CrazyInteg

    CrazyInteg Honda-Acura.net OG

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2000
    Messages:
    12,205
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    Omaha
    I just bought one (philips with the USB) for $73 at Best Buy. I cant really tell much of a difference between 480p on component or the upconverted signal over hdmi.
     
  5. amill94

    amill94 OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2003
    Messages:
    31,070
    Likes Received:
    316
    Inexpensive upconversion dvd players use low quality scalers which make for poor upscaling...if any at all.
     

Share This Page