SRS unsorted...this is long, cliffs at the end

Discussion in 'On Topic' started by costill, Nov 13, 2006.

1. costill

costill ...take fear from bats

ok, the title may or may not make sense to some and to some it might. i've been using cocaine/other drugs on and off for a few years now. some drugs i don't really care to mention b/c of the stigma that goes with them. maybe its me being embarassed or what not, but i am very ashamed of what has become of me over the past few years.
    i have enjoyed drinking since i was a teenager, and still do, but sometimes it gets out of control. i didn't start smoking weed until i was 17, also something i enjoyed, and still do. i used to only do one or the other, as doing both led to me losing that control i like to have as far as being able to handle an unforseen/unfortunate situation should it arise. (I used to always be the one who would take care of a sick friend getting them home safe, etc). over time, i started using both together, over the past few years they seemed to go hand in hand. about 5 years ago, i started using cocaine, tried it once, didnt' really like it, then tried it again, and loved/hated it. maybe this is where things kinda went down hill. through low self-esteem, poor choices in relationships, and friends that i have had the use was on and off, till about 2 years ago, when i met a friend of a friend. the use grew more and more, causing the loss of my position at work, i stepped down voluntarily because i knew that the combination of the drugs/drinking, and the stress it was causing at work were acting upon each other. i started working 3rd shift moved out of my apt. bc the drugs were also pissing off some of my closer friends and my roommate (best friend) and lost contact with many of them for quite some time. the shit really hit the fan, as i fell into depression, using heavily. it was a very dark period in my life, and i contemplated suicide several times.