SRS uninterested in others, counseling appropriate?

Discussion in 'On Topic' started by Blahaboxxx, Jan 16, 2006.

1. Blahaboxxx

Blahaboxxx OT Supporter

I'm a 22 year old student, and lately I've been thinking a lot about how I have been living my life (and how i want to live in the future). I tend to pick up solitary activities like video games or listening to/buying music and obsessively engage myself in these activities as a passtime. Obsessively in the sense that I can wake up and start playing a game for 16-20 hours and go back to sleep without doing anything else on a given day and not miss a thing outside of what I've done.

I've noticed that I treat my family as an obligation. I live 15 minutes from my parents and see them less than once a month, only if my siblings come to town or when I need assistance. Most people I know enjoy going home for holidays like christmas, I went home for a meal and returned to my apartment by 4pm out of boredom. I know this upset my parents, but I can honestly say I'd rather watch tv or play video games alone than make small talk with my family. Their jobs bore me, and I don't have funny anecdotes from my math classes to discuss.

I also treat my friends in a similar manner. They're more like regular drinking buddies to me than people I'd help in times of need. You might suggest I find new friends but I am terribly uncomfortable approaching people I don't know, and I don't need to leave my comfort zone to find new people to hang out with on the weekends. Yes this also means I am single, I don't have the time or attention span to devote to a girlfriend.

I don't go out of my way to treat these people in such a way. I suppose it's more out of neglect than anything else; more people makes a better "party" in my friends' eyes and my parents are happy enough just to see me when they do. I just don't want to inconvenience myself soley to satisfy any of them.