SRS Unemployment Benefits? Am I allowed to apply?

Discussion in 'On Topic' started by popsnbeer, Mar 25, 2009.

1. popsnbeer

popsnbeer New Member

Hey guys. I may be getting let go from work here. It is more of a performance based job and I am not doing well enough. I am not sure how my employer will file the employee termination paperwork, but my question is will I be elligible to apply for unemployment benefits in the state of Arizona?

thanks guys.

2. GregFarz78

GregFarz78 New Member

if you get laid off yes, if you get fired its a lot more difficult to be elligible chances are no

3. 7960

7960 New Member

then there's no way to answer your question.

4. THoC

THoC New Member

depends on your company.

keep in mind im not in AZ and do not know the laws there.

when i fire someone we very reraly even bother fighting unemployeement.

people who get fired for performace almost always still get it.

5. t-t-t-today

t-t-t-today New Member

I was a car salesman and my performance sucked. I only worked there for like 2 1/2 months. I'm not even sure if I got fired or laid off, they just told me they are letting me go. I still got unemployment.

I'm in illinois.

6. popsnbeer

popsnbeer New Member

okay...let's say i have the choice then. should i quit and keep them as a good employer on my resume. I have been with them for about 20 months now. or do i let them fire me b/c it might be very very hard for me to get another job quickly making the same amount of money I was making.

7. t-t-t-today

t-t-t-today New Member

You can't get unemployment if you quit. I'd say let them fire you/lay you off.

8. popsnbeer

popsnbeer New Member

Yeah. i understand that. however, will that (getting fired) make it that much harder for me to go get another job without being able to use them as a reference?

9. 7960

7960 New Member

you can use them as a reference.

when you apply to a new place make sure your contact at the old place is someone who will give you a good reference.