A&P Understanding B&W conversions...

Discussion in 'Lifestyle' started by IntheWorks, Oct 25, 2006.

1. IntheWorks

IntheWorks windin film.. takin pics Moderator

THought I'd put together a little visual on how important it is to properly convert your images to B&W.

This is geared towards photoshop users... I'm not familiar with any other photo editing programs

I'm sure there are a few members in here who could add some more technical details... I'm a crappy writer, so I'll do the best I can.

First, lets start off with a look at an image that was shot with B&W film. There are serveral different types of B&W film.. each one will yield different results... it's all about personal preference, so pick what you like and go from there. I like Tmax films... so that's what I shoot.

Here is an image shot with TMAX 100 film with my Mamiya RB67.

[​IMG]

Now lets move on to "digital" images. (*note* this was shot with color film, then converted to B&W using Photoshop)

With proper conversion you can very closely mimic the results of b&w film. Probably the most commonly used, and worst, technique to converting your digital images to B&W is simply changing you image mode to greyscale.

[​IMG]

The main problem with greyscale is your lack of a true black/white. It leaves your image looking "muddy" and lacks contrast.

My personal favorite conversion method is using the Channel Mixer in Photoshop.
    there are serveral tutorials on line discussing how to use this method so I'm not going to go into details.
    [​IMG]

[​IMG]

If you compare this method with just a simple greyscale conversion you'll notice right way the difference in the true blacks and whites, along with that extra little punch, along with a much better tonal range.

Now, the last method I'm gonig to show you has picked up a lot of popularity recently... Duotones.
    [​IMG]

There are also Tritones and Quadtones which give completely different looks...