Un-used T1 line @ work. good VOIP option?

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by MP, Mar 16, 2010.

  1. MP

    MP New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2002
    Messages:
    34,377
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Silicon Valley
    before I started at this co the previous IT guy had a T1 line installed thinking it was the best option for a GRAPHICS/DESIGN company. Needless to say the line couldn't handle the traffic. They signed a 2 year contract though so they have to keep the T1 line for now.

    Any suggestions on a VOIP setup? I searched around but can't come to any conclusions.

    Only 15 - 20 employees, maybe need about 10 extensions in all.
     
  2. b0b

    b0b OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2004
    Messages:
    113
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Orlando, FL
    Asterisk.
     
  3. thekraft

    thekraft New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2005
    Messages:
    710
    Likes Received:
    0
    I hear good things about 8x8 and Vocalocity.
     
  4. FormulaLS1

    FormulaLS1 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2006
    Messages:
    519
    Likes Received:
    0
    How many concurrent phone calls?
     
  5. MP

    MP New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2002
    Messages:
    34,377
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Silicon Valley
    8x8 is actually the first company I looked into for a quote.
     
  6. MP

    MP New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2002
    Messages:
    34,377
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Silicon Valley
    we might have 3 - 4 people on the phone at once at the same time. About 15 - 20 extensions.

    My main concern is running a whole new network...I assume I could do it in a weekend, but it'll be a pain with the type of building it is.
     
  7. 5Gen_Prelude

    5Gen_Prelude There might not be an "I" in the word "Team", but

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2000
    Messages:
    14,519
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC, CANADA
    A lot of phones come with a built in switch for this exact reason.
     
  8. FormulaLS1

    FormulaLS1 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2006
    Messages:
    519
    Likes Received:
    0
    You don't need to run a whole new network...

    If you have a decent switch most phones can be set to jump to a voice VLAN. It makes QoS on the LAN much easier.
     
  9. MP

    MP New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2002
    Messages:
    34,377
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Silicon Valley
    I'll have to look into that LS1. Obviously, this is the first VOIP I've had to deal with. Still figuring it all out.
     
  10. HY

    HY New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2006
    Messages:
    57
    Likes Received:
    0
    if you want to do it on the cheap and can handle the work go asterisk + a voip provider like vitelity
     
  11. Vito_Corleone

    Vito_Corleone New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2003
    Messages:
    29,356
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Tampa, FL
  12. rawko

    rawko OT Supporter

    Joined:
    May 22, 2005
    Messages:
    59
    Likes Received:
    0
    see if you can get the provider to convert some of the data to voice lines.
     

Share This Page