:ugh: SAN guys i'm really hating SUN and Veritas right now

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by Mikey D, Nov 8, 2009.

1. Mikey D

Mikey D New Member

Man I swear I always seem to find these odd issues.

We're installing four new SUN T5220's and they're using a new SUN 6780 array. Everything was going good with the builds, could see the tape drives and what not. Veritas volume manager installed just needed to zone and carve up the disk. We zone the disk and put in the Veritas ASL for the array and then it starts, seeing trespasses on the array for just the four new machines. Driving me mad, we're using the same Veritas versions and ASL's on an existing server without any problems only difference on the working machine is a lower Solaris patch level.

Just wasted Saturday trying to fix it without getting any further, oh well cases opened with SUN and Veritas so I'll worry about it Monday.

2. trouphaz

trouphaz New Member

i'll tell you, i've been a UNIX admin for quite a while and i've grown to hate Sun and Solaris.

what version of VxVM are you using? are you sure you need the ASLs? i installed the ones for Clariions in VxVM 5.0 a while back and found out later that i didn't need them. i don't know if it was causing problems, but i was told to remove them.

3. Mikey D

Mikey D New Member

We've got VxVM 5.0MP3 we also tried 5.0MP3RP2b just for grins with no changes. For the ASL's yeah we needed them no support of the array without for VxVM. The weird thing is we have an identical array being used by an identical server build with no problems. Only difference there is the firmware on the array is a level or two lower than this new one.

Its absolutely got me stumped, I'm debating even turning on MPxIO and setting the host group in SANtricity to use SUN MPxIO to see if that works without issues.

4. retorq

retorq What up bitch??

We don't use SUN but here's my weekend SAN story: