SRS Ugh...help please

Discussion in 'On Topic' started by korverftw, Mar 3, 2008.

1. korverftw

korverftw New Member

Hey guys, I've been reading the forums for a while. This is my first post.
    I'm a sophomore in college and having some rough times.

I've always been a really smart person, but always had trouble being successful in school. I pretty much coasted through elementary/high school/first year of college without studying much, turning in half-assed homework to keep my grades decent but bombing tests because I have never really learned to buckle down and study.

I'm 19, Electrical Engineering major, introverted, only 1 real friend that I hang out with (which is fine, I'm not very social at all). I work 25 hours a week and have 14 credit hours. Free time consists of building computers, video games, playing in the Engineering labs at school and that's about it. I love my major which is why I chose it, but I'm already starting to fall behind simply because I can't focus enough to keep up with my classes. It's to the point where I am this close to just choosing a dumb major that I can get out of the way without studying.

My first year of college was easy because it was all general ed classes with super easy tests. This year is harder with Calculus and some other math courses. My computer courses are all super easy as that all comes natural to me and I barely have to study. I've been doing all the homework pretty well but still have a poor test record. I've been trying to narrow down the problem since 9th grade and I've never been able to. Now that the work is so hard that it actually matters, I need to get it figured out. I'm completely behind on the subject matter and can't focus for long enough to buckle down and get it. I don't think ADD/ADHD is my problem.