Ubuntu on a Macbook with photos!

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by skelm, Jul 19, 2006.

  1. skelm

    skelm New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2006
    Messages:
    868
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Australia
    Funny thing happened to me today! I had just finished installing Windows on my Macbook, and it was rebooting. As it was rebooting I noticed it was saying, “Press any key to boot from cd…” It was already past the apple boot loader, so I wondered if this extra boot from cd option would work with Linux. I popped in the last Ubuntu cd I had burned and behold! It booted with no errors, with X and all. I started poking around to see what worked and what didn’t. From what I can tell so far, EVERYTHING works.

    Full blog entry with photos:

    http://codingo.net/blog/2006/07/18/linux-on-macbook/
     
  2. clog

    clog NO SOUP FOR YOU!!!!11

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2004
    Messages:
    20,987
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    LOLifornia
    that's amazing... but i don't understand why anyone would want to do that.
     
  3. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    So you basically over-paid for a pc notebook to run linux?

    Point, I see not.
     
  4. mobbarley

    mobbarley Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2005
    Messages:
    9,256
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Sydney
    yep, if you hold down C at startup after doing the firmware upgrade it boots everything i've thrown at it.
     
  5. mobbarley

    mobbarley Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2005
    Messages:
    9,256
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Sydney
    Well, assuming its the same as my imac..
     
  6. skelm

    skelm New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2006
    Messages:
    868
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Australia
    The point is that it can be done :)

    I still prefer OS/X anyday :)
     
  7. Icedog

    Icedog New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2003
    Messages:
    8,100
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    CO
    how's the performance on the Macbook? I'm thinking about picking one up.
     
  8. Peyomp

    Peyomp New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2002
    Messages:
    14,017
    Likes Received:
    0
    Parallels > BootCamp

    for everything but games or other high performance shite.
     
  9. skelm

    skelm New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2006
    Messages:
    868
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Australia
    Fucking brilliant - Would well and truly recommend!
     
  10. jordan04

    jordan04 The seeds of love have taken hold, and if we won't

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2004
    Messages:
    1,168
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    md
    I swear I completly missed this whole Parallels thing. My computer was broken for a while, when I left Boot Camp was the shit and now everyone's talking about Parallels. Is Parallels just as fast as boot camp at like running Word and stuff?
     
  11. Tvan

    Tvan New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2006
    Messages:
    9,012
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Chicago

    Parallels needs DirectX support FTW.
     
  12. Peyomp

    Peyomp New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2002
    Messages:
    14,017
    Likes Received:
    0
    Its fast enough. Real world tests show better than 60% performance, which is more than enough for Word, or anything else besides games, rendering, etc.
     
  13. IcyHot4Life

    IcyHot4Life Str8 Ballin'

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2002
    Messages:
    18,151
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Inquire Within
    try 90% :coold:
     
  14. Peyomp

    Peyomp New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2002
    Messages:
    14,017
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thats claimed, but its not actually that good, in my experience. The other issue is that there ain't no hardware acceleration on graphics, I don't think.
     
  15. mobbarley

    mobbarley Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2005
    Messages:
    9,256
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Sydney
    has anyone tried darwine? is it useable?
     
  16. skelm

    skelm New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2006
    Messages:
    868
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Australia
    I used to use it prior to bootcamp and it wasn't too bad - Was a bit on the sluggish side until I upgraded my RAM though...
     
  17. Peyomp

    Peyomp New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2002
    Messages:
    14,017
    Likes Received:
    0
    Can't see any reason to use Darwine now. Parallels is only $80.
     
  18. skelm

    skelm New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2006
    Messages:
    868
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Australia
    .
     

Share This Page