Two OS's on one hard drive

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by JoeDirte, Jan 17, 2006.

  1. JoeDirte

    JoeDirte OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2006
    Messages:
    45,212
    Likes Received:
    6
    Location:
    FL
    so my wifes dad was reinstalling windows when it froze on him, so he started over, but now on boot up it asks which one to use and its real annoying cause the one thats highlighted is the bad one so u have to pick the right one before time runs out.

    Point is......how do i uninstal the bad version?
     
  2. FallNAngel

    FallNAngel ...destroyer of threads...

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2002
    Messages:
    939
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Right Here (near Chicago)
    Sounds like you need to edit the boot.ini file to remove the bad entry. Boot into Windows and use Notepad to open the file "boot.ini" (should be in the root of the drive, use Start->Search->Find Files and Folders if you have to) and remove the offending line.
     
  3. alex

    alex My neighbor got the gas chamber awhile back for do Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2005
    Messages:
    24,383
    Likes Received:
    8
    Location:
    Orange County, NY
  4. MrMan

    MrMan New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2004
    Messages:
    308
    Likes Received:
    0
    ^, no that just removes the SP2 (major) update. Don't do that.
     
  5. skelm

    skelm New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2006
    Messages:
    868
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Australia
    True. And yes this answer is right and to elaborate a bit more you can get some more options related to bootup and access boot.ini via System properties.

    To do this press Windows Start Key + PrintScr / Pause -> Advanced -> System Startup / Recovery Settings

    Thanks mate; Have a good one :)
     
  6. JoeDirte

    JoeDirte OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2006
    Messages:
    45,212
    Likes Received:
    6
    Location:
    FL
    oh ok, i'll go to start/run/"msconfig'

    ive seen that boot ini, when i mess with the staartup items

    thanks
     
  7. JoeDirte

    JoeDirte OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2006
    Messages:
    45,212
    Likes Received:
    6
    Location:
    FL
    btw...

    how do i know which is the offending line?
     
  8. skelm

    skelm New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2006
    Messages:
    868
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Australia
    [​IMG]

    Ok take the above screenshot for example. You will see at the bottom of boot.ini a list of operating systems, the default operating system set here is shown on the third line (default).

    You should be able to figure this out but if you can't just copy / paste your boot.ini here and I will show you what it should be.

    Michael
     
  9. Corp

    Corp OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2003
    Messages:
    28,201
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Providence, RI
    if you're using msconfig, in the boot.ini tab press "check all boot paths", that should find the wrong one and ask you if you want to remove it.
     
  10. JoeDirte

    JoeDirte OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2006
    Messages:
    45,212
    Likes Received:
    6
    Location:
    FL
    got it, thanks guys.
     
  11. alex

    alex My neighbor got the gas chamber awhile back for do Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2005
    Messages:
    24,383
    Likes Received:
    8
    Location:
    Orange County, NY
    No, that's not true. The SP2 doesn't appear in Add/Remove. I just photoshopped the words Microsoft Windows XP over the words Microsoft Word in the picture.

    It was a joke. But, it's lost. :sigh:
     
  12. EagerZeroedThick

    EagerZeroedThick New Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2002
    Messages:
    5,971
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    In a blade enclosure near you
    vmware holla
     
  13. JoeDirte

    JoeDirte OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2006
    Messages:
    45,212
    Likes Received:
    6
    Location:
    FL
    ok, heres another, his other comp has ME and 2000 pro on it, he wants to take 2000 pro out and keep ME. how do i get the pro out without reformat? delete partition?
     
  14. JoeDirte

    JoeDirte OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2006
    Messages:
    45,212
    Likes Received:
    6
    Location:
    FL
    ok, tried to delete partition, but it only has one.

    when the comp boots, it quickly shows the os selection screen but automatically goes to ME. so maybe i need to delete files on c drive? i can send a screen shot of the c drive. it has a win98 file, WINDOWS file(thats empty), and a winME file.
     
  15. JoeDirte

    JoeDirte OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2006
    Messages:
    45,212
    Likes Received:
    6
    Location:
    FL
    its not mine, i have no clue.
     
  16. Toadster

    Toadster have you SHARTEEZED today?

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2001
    Messages:
    43,710
    Likes Received:
    110
    Location:
    ...fresh from the Toadstool.
    reboot
     

Share This Page