Two C++ questions

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by Saicho, Nov 14, 2006.

1. Saicho

Saicho New Member

Heya all! I'm a Java programmer trying to learn C++ and I have two pretty simple questions.

1. When compiling:

Code:
    class A {
      public:
        static int i = 5;
    };

int main() {
      return A.i;
    } 
    I get a compiler error on line 8 "error: expected primary-expression before '.' token. This is the first time I've seen anyhting like this before and I have no idea what it means. What I'm trying to do above is just access a static variable inside the A class. Can anyone explain what's going on here?

2. When compiling

Code:
    class A {
      public:
        int i;
        A(int x) { i = x; }
    };

class B {
      public:
        A a;
        B() { a = 5; } 
    };

int main() { 
      B b;
      return b.a.i;
    } 

I also get an error, something about no matching function for call to A::A(). It's pretty obvious what I'm trying to do here. I think the problem is that A a; is calling the default constructor for A but I can't seem to be able to fix the B class to include a as a class variable and have a initialized as an A class with i=5...

Any advice/explanation is appreciated. Thanks very much for your time!

2. GOGZILLA

GOGZILLA Double-Uranium Member

you're using return all wrong dude. I am not sure what you're trying to use main for but return is used in functions and methods to pass a value back to the function or method that called it. You would have to do something like this if you wanted to use function/methods to access i(from first example):

Code:
    class A {
      public:
        static int i = 5;
        int iReturn();
    };

int A::iReturn()
    {
        return i;
    }

int main() {
      int returnValue;
      A myObject;

returnValue = myObject.iReturn();
    }

since i is public you can access it using myObject.i as well:

int tempValue = myObject.i;