TV-Tuner?

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by PSUPef2K, Mar 28, 2005.

  1. PSUPef2K

    PSUPef2K #Elite member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2000
    Messages:
    116,260
    Likes Received:
    0
    I don't have a TV in my room, so I'm just going to split the cable modem connection so I can watch TV on my PC...

    What is a decent card I should get for this task?

    Thanks in advance.
     
  2. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    hauppage pvr-150
     
  3. PSUPef2K

    PSUPef2K #Elite member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2000
    Messages:
    116,260
    Likes Received:
    0
  4. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    wrong. HD tuners will only look better when watching HD programming -- of which that HDTV Wonder does *NOT* work with digital cable or satelite.... it only works with on-air HDTV broadcasts, which are lame. The PVR-150 does a much better job.
     
  5. PSUPef2K

    PSUPef2K #Elite member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2000
    Messages:
    116,260
    Likes Received:
    0
    :mad: i thought since we get HD through digital it would work on that as well. WTF is the point of that card if you can't get HD through cable? :down:
     
  6. PSUPef2K

    PSUPef2K #Elite member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2000
    Messages:
    116,260
    Likes Received:
    0
    i did check www.checkhd.com and it gives a list of HD free over the air programming in my area, inludes fox, cbs, and NBC, and WB

    no ABC though. That card would get me those in HD, correct?

    do you think that the PVR-150 would be a better bet for just normal tv watching/recording? Basically, I'd like my PC to be a TivO. :o
     
  7. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    the PVR-150 will be much better as a TiVo unit. The PVR-150 was actually designed for that purpose. As for HD signals, it will not work over digital cable -- only on-air broadcasts. This is due to the proprietary way that each cable company decides to broadcast their digital HD signal.
     
  8. PSUPef2K

    PSUPef2K #Elite member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2000
    Messages:
    116,260
    Likes Received:
    0
    What about the PVR-250 model?
     
  9. aphoric

    aphoric Even if god did exist, it would be necessary to ab

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2003
    Messages:
    918
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Leaving Afghanistan
    Depends on what you want to do with it. Their site lists the differences between cards. In any case make sure you get Snapstream Beyond TV.
    http://www.snapstream.com
     
  10. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    the PVR-150 and PVR-250 are essentially the same thing.. they simply use different chipsets to reach their goal. The 150 is newer, and goes through fewer steps. I would grab the 150, although both will look the same.
     
  11. PSUPef2K

    PSUPef2K #Elite member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2000
    Messages:
    116,260
    Likes Received:
    0
    circuit city has the PVR-150 for 100 bucks...i'm going to pick one up after work.
     
  12. pookrat

    pookrat OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2002
    Messages:
    1,113
    Likes Received:
    6
    Location:
    Houston
    PVR-150 with Beyond TV is what I have been using on my Media PC for some time now. I agree with the previous suggestions. :big grin:
     
  13. PSUPef2K

    PSUPef2K #Elite member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2000
    Messages:
    116,260
    Likes Received:
    0
    I just picked it up and installed it. :coold:

    Is beyond TV worth the extra 50 bucks? :dunno:
     
  14. StevesVR4

    StevesVR4 Get Arrested

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2003
    Messages:
    7,328
    Likes Received:
    0
    You would need a HDTV-tuner card that was Cable Card compatible to watch digital cable on your computer. Due to copyright concerns, I doubt we will be seeing tuner cards that are Cable Card compatible for some time since you would be able to easily record the HDTV broadcast to you computer and share it over the Internet. So, don't expect to see a tuner card that can do what you want for a while.
     
  15. PSUPef2K

    PSUPef2K #Elite member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2000
    Messages:
    116,260
    Likes Received:
    0
    I am using beyond TV and the audio is not synchronized with the video feed. Is there a setting I can change to help this issue?
     
  16. Up All Night

    Up All Night I might sleep all day

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2004
    Messages:
    2,104
    Likes Received:
    0
    Try to 21 day trial and see for yourself. I think so
     
  17. aphoric

    aphoric Even if god did exist, it would be necessary to ab

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2003
    Messages:
    918
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Leaving Afghanistan
    tuner card without BeyondTV is a paperweight.
     
  18. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    not really. I personally like MCE2k5. Love the remote!
     
  19. EvilSS

    EvilSS New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2003
    Messages:
    5,104
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    STL
    If you want to use your PC as a TiVo, you will need a hardware MPEG encoder. The only ATI CARD with hardware encoding is the TV Wonder Elite. Without hardware encoding, it sucks.

    The Hauppage cards are almost all hardware MPEG.

    I like BeyondTV because it's a helluva lot easier to get to work that MCE05. Even with certified hardware, building your own MCE05 box can be tricky.
     
  20. EvilSS

    EvilSS New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2003
    Messages:
    5,104
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    STL
    Yes. The software included with the Hauppage cards is ass. BeyondTV or MCE05.
     
  21. PSUPef2K

    PSUPef2K #Elite member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2000
    Messages:
    116,260
    Likes Received:
    0
    just expired. :(
     
  22. mace

    mace i don't read

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2004
    Messages:
    12,567
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Texas
    Digital Cable won't work with most tv tuners btw, only an analog signal.
     
  23. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    digital cable works fine with mine :wiggle:
     
  24. Wolf68k

    Wolf68k OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2003
    Messages:
    4,861
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Houston, Texas
    Works fine with my Leadtek TV2000XP Expert, I just have to plug the cable into the FM port rather then the TV port.
    However when rabbit ears are in the TV port it picks up air TV just fine as well.
     
  25. SLED

    SLED build an idiot proof device and someone else will

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2001
    Messages:
    28,118
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    AZ, like a bauce!
    but you have to use your digital tuner rather than just going right into the card. Unless you have a digital tuner card or have one of the digital units which has firewire out to your pc.
     

Share This Page