TV Tuner 'Lag' Problem

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by sablehonda, Jun 18, 2005.

  1. sablehonda

    sablehonda New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2002
    Messages:
    8,514
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Chicago
    I have an ATI All-In-Wonder 9800. I have my Xbox hooked up into the composite inputs.

    The problem is there is a 2 second delay between what is happening on the Xbox and what shows up on the screen.

    All drivers (ATI Catalyst, Multimedia Center) are updated to the latest versions.
     
  2. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    That's due to the cards buffer.
     
  3. EvilSS

    EvilSS New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2003
    Messages:
    5,104
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    STL
    Set the software in liveTV (not recorded) mode. AIW's have a delay for recording buffer. It goes away if you switch to live TV.
     
  4. Shingmaster

    Shingmaster omgOTbangaz4life

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2005
    Messages:
    5,338
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    dirty ass fuckin' jersey
    That happens with my buddies external tvtuner, somehow he got the video to show up on his tv and on the screen ofthe tv tuner so it would still delay ifyou're looking at the tuner but on the tv its fine, so you can record your halo vids or w/e perfectly
     
  5. sablehonda

    sablehonda New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2002
    Messages:
    8,514
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Chicago
    I'll give this a try. I didn't realize there were 2 modes like this. I just thought you could pause liveTV and then unpause it.
     
  6. EvilSS

    EvilSS New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2003
    Messages:
    5,104
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    STL
    Yup. The AWI's can run in non-PVR mode (also uses a LOT less CPU time in this mode)
     
  7. sablehonda

    sablehonda New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2002
    Messages:
    8,514
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Chicago
    Bad news. I opened my tuner window and the task manager to monitor CPU/mem usage.

    The PVR has been disabled this whole time. When clicking the "TV On Demand" button, the CPU usage jumps from 5% to 25% and the tuner says "Live TV." The same lag is present.
     
  8. EvilSS

    EvilSS New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2003
    Messages:
    5,104
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    STL
    It's either the hardware or your system then. Sorry, them the breaks.
     
  9. sablehonda

    sablehonda New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2002
    Messages:
    8,514
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Chicago
    People in other forums had this problem when they upgraded to 9.x. I've tried downgrading to 7.x but am still having some trouble.

    I'm thinking of going with another card.
     
  10. frostedfrank

    frostedfrank OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    6,753
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    Ottawa, Canada
    ya i had that prob couple weeks ago. jsut unistall the multimedia package and drivers and get 5.6 with the new ithink it might be 9.06 the package? not sure. lag is gone now
     

Share This Page