TV tuner card

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by Reznik, Sep 30, 2005.

  1. Reznik

    Reznik New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    Messages:
    1,688
    Likes Received:
    0
    I want to watch cable on my computer. I have a monitor only, However I don't have a TV tuner card. I wanted recommendations on a decent TV tuner card. Something basic but reliable.

    BTW, How is the TV picture on regular monitors?

    thanks
     
  2. Wolf68k

    Wolf68k OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2003
    Messages:
    4,861
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Houston, Texas
  3. Corp

    Corp OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2003
    Messages:
    28,201
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Providence, RI
    i have the same one, and it's great. i just wish the software had more features with it.
     
  4. The Internet

    The Internet New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2004
    Messages:
    11,047
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    USA
  5. bobbyseatbelt

    bobbyseatbelt New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2005
    Messages:
    130
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    houston,tx
    looks great :bigthumb: .. monitors have way more lines of resolution than tv's (not that your gonna get hd quality, but it still looks better)

    yep
     
  6. Corp

    Corp OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2003
    Messages:
    28,201
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Providence, RI
    you can, but with most cards it will be impossible to play. most if not all cards encode the video before it is displayed on the screen, so if you're trying to play a video game there will be a delay between when you press a button, and when you actually see the character move. this makes playing games on the card almost impossible.
    another way you can play game consoles is with a vga box. you'll have to switch between computer and video games, you cant be doing both at the same time, but i think its the best way to do it. i'll try to find the link to the vga box i have.
     
  7. Reznik

    Reznik New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    Messages:
    1,688
    Likes Received:
    0
  8. Diggumz

    Diggumz Devin da dude

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2005
    Messages:
    1,829
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    PA
    I've never had said delay with my R9700AIW:hsugh:
     
  9. Corp

    Corp OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2003
    Messages:
    28,201
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Providence, RI
    :dunno: i've seen it on all the cards i've seen people using.
     
  10. rsxm5

    rsxm5 OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2002
    Messages:
    2,961
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    I've had great luck with ATI All-In-Wonder cards, and Hauppauge cards. I have a basic Hauppauge one now, and it looks decent.
     
  11. tony

    tony Guest

    Hauppauge ftw
     
  12. Corp

    Corp OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2003
    Messages:
    28,201
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Providence, RI
    a little off subject, but does anybody know of a good program to use with a hauppage card? the software that comes with the card isnt very good, but the other software i've found has too many bugs in it.
     
  13. mace

    mace i don't read

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2004
    Messages:
    12,567
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Texas
    nvidia purevideo dualtv card?
    http://www.techpowerup.com/reviews/NVIDIA/PureVideo/

    might be mostly hype, but i'd look into it and see what people say about the card after it's released.

    i wouldn't go with an ati tuner card because of the crappy drivers and lack of third party support for their new theater 550 pro card.
     
  14. Wolf68k

    Wolf68k OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2003
    Messages:
    4,861
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Houston, Texas
    http://www.leadtek.com/multimedia/winfast_tv2000xprm_1.html
    There's a table that shows the difference between the RM and the Deluxe

    In a nutshell; No FM Tuner and no video editting software inlcuded.
    Judging from this http://www.leadtek.com/multimedia/image/tv2000xp_series.pdf
    There is also no direct burn

    Something about Video ADC, which I honestly have no idea what that is but anyway, the RM is 8bit while the Expert is 10bit
     
  15. Keyzs

    Keyzs OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2003
    Messages:
    814
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Charlotte, MI
    Not intending to hijack the thread but do any of these external tuners allow video to be recorded from another source? My father wants transfer some old home movies to digital, and if its external he can buy it, use it, and I will just 'borrow' it when he is finished...
     
  16. Wolf68k

    Wolf68k OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2003
    Messages:
    4,861
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Houston, Texas
    Usually, yes.
    Just look to see what connections the support and what fits your needs. Usually Composite(RCA) and/or S-Video.
     
  17. fanatic

    fanatic BC2 needs more barrell roll

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2001
    Messages:
    6,834
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Louisiana
    I have a 9600 AIW, started off great when I first bought it (no delay), and now with multimedia center updates it is now about a half second to a second delayed. I've tried to revert back to the old multimedia center it came with, but every time I install it it gives me an error and won't work. Not a big deal when it comes to watching TV, but I use it to record off the video games every once in awhile so I had to buy a splitter so I could play off the TV and record on the computer.

    Anyone have recommendations on HDTV cards? I'm in need of TV Tuner/Capture Card and although I don't even have HDTV currently, I just want to buy one now so I don't have to worry about upgrading later.
     
  18. Claydus

    Claydus Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2001
    Messages:
    8,783
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Alpharetta, GA
    WTF is up with ATI tv tuners?? :ugh: Mine has some horrible delay when I play my ps2 through it. :hsd:
     
  19. fanatic

    fanatic BC2 needs more barrell roll

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2001
    Messages:
    6,834
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Louisiana
    I think it's ATi's shitty multimedia center. I've had nothing but problems with it from the beginning. With their new line of tuners (using the 550 theater chips) they're not even using the multimedia center anymore. They use some Cyberlink PowerCinema software.
     
  20. FusionZ06

    FusionZ06 /\__/\__/\__0>

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2004
    Messages:
    86,918
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Sunshine State
    Steer clear of ATI cards especially if you have a machine with Hyperthreading...there are many known issues with their MMC and hyperthreading.
     
  21. FusionZ06

    FusionZ06 /\__/\__/\__0>

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2004
    Messages:
    86,918
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Sunshine State
    Very true their MMC is SHIT.
     

Share This Page