TV lagging on PC...

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by CrackityJones, Mar 1, 2008.

  1. CrackityJones

    CrackityJones OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2004
    Messages:
    8,783
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    ATL HO
    I'm running my cable tv through my comp using windows media center. Works good, but the signals weak (a) and the cable locks up/lags when shit is going on in the backround ie I get a google IM....

    The weak signal: I'm using a cable splitter... would a wal-mart amplifier work, or should I run a cable from another outlet?

    Lag: How do I remedy this?

    Thx.
     
  2. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    what the fuck, you think that "lag" when multi-tasking is created by a weak cable signal????

    :rofl: :rofl:

    Are you fucking serious????


    :rofl: :rofl: :rofl: :rofl:
     
  3. CrackityJones

    CrackityJones OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2004
    Messages:
    8,783
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    ATL HO
    :ugh: read faggot
     
  4. CrackityJones

    CrackityJones OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2004
    Messages:
    8,783
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    ATL HO
    I have a weak signal which is causing a poor picture on cable.

    I have the lag issue which is caused by what?? I'm running a AMD Athlon 64x2 5000+ (2.6GHz), 2g of DDR2 533, and 6150se vid. Vid card the prob?
     
  5. Doomsday

    Doomsday XXX

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2000
    Messages:
    14,902
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Minnesota
    are you using any codec packs? if so, upgrade to the latest one, then play with the settings.
    update vid card and tv tuner drivers as well.
     
  6. Doomsday

    Doomsday XXX

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2000
    Messages:
    14,902
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Minnesota
    also go to Display Properties > Settings tab > Advanced > Troubleshoot tab
    play with the Harware Acceleration slide bar and see if that changes anything
     
  7. JayC71

    JayC71 Guest

    Morbid curiosity...why are you running it through your PC? For recording?

    Anyway, if you can run it straight from the wall, that is probably your best bet. Otherwise, you could try raising the process priority for the app that is running the cable tv. That should alleviate some of your lag when other apps are running, but unless you can dedicate a box to video for your tv you can still end up with some lag at times when the CPU spikes due to other apps.
     

Share This Page