trying to set a password

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by coma, Jul 3, 2005.

  1. coma

    coma New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2004
    Messages:
    638
    Likes Received:
    0
    I am trying to configure my computer so that Windows (OS ME) will be password protected. So, I go to the password wizard but it asks for my old password in order to change it but I've never had an old password so how the hell can I do this? I even tried "hp autorized customer" which I guess is the default id setting, but that dosen't work.

    Also, is this a big joke anyway because all you have to do is press the Esc key and it will bypass the password barrier anyway or is there a way to truly password protect access to the computer?
     
  2. DennyB

    DennyB New Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2005
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Set a password in the BIOS.
     
  3. stoliohranj

    stoliohranj beautiful fucking tits man

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2004
    Messages:
    10,097
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    blitzburgh
    either upgrade to windows xp or 2000 or set a bios password
     
  4. Yep

    Yep Knick knack paddy whack, give the old dog a bone

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2001
    Messages:
    4,603
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    South Jersey
    Waste of time, unless you can password protect the BIOS, lock the case, and chain it down to the floor.

    Windows 2000 or XP with encryption enabled and a decent password can help protect your sensitive files. Though locking down the OS side of things completly is difficult with all the password reset tools available.
     

Share This Page