Trying to run a Headunit-less setup in resto-mod muscle car.

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by TheTeflonDon, Apr 7, 2007.

  1. TheTeflonDon

    TheTeflonDon New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2005
    Messages:
    86
    Likes Received:
    0
    Howdy all, long time no post.

    I'm building a '67 Camaro all non-stock lots of cool little mods everywhere. Anyway, with the console I have it doesn't leave room for a headunit, not to mention I don't want to have one anyway. Is there a way to run an iPod (perhaps directly to an amp?) with no headunt at all? As a bonus question, can I run sattelite radio with an am/fm tuner? Basically I'd like to run just the iPod, sat. radio, amp, speakers, and two subs.

    Am I out to lunch or is there some possibilities here?

    Umm I know pics are always requested for anything, so here's one of the car (back end needs to be lowered more still).
    [​IMG]
     
  2. rebs

    rebs shares AIDS OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2003
    Messages:
    120,552
    Likes Received:
    202
    Location:
    CA
    What we do is use an EQ with an aux in., so for aux you can run your ipod, and the normal input your can run your sat radio. Its entirely possible.
     
  3. Create

    Create :free at last:

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2006
    Messages:
    8,043
    Likes Received:
    2
    In a car such as this where he's trying to preserve (guessing) simplicity of interior, where do you mount the eq and how does one switch modes/radio stations.

    Remote control in the glovebox, maybe?
     
  4. rebs

    rebs shares AIDS OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2003
    Messages:
    120,552
    Likes Received:
    202
    Location:
    CA
    well an eq can BE the remote control.. We usualy mold them into the glove box or under dash. Whatever the customer needs.
     
  5. retorq

    retorq What up bitch??

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2006
    Messages:
    6,061
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Mohave Desert
    I had a simlar setup, ran my MP3 player (not an IPod) directly into two amps, no head unit. Worked pretty well. Controlled the volume form the side of my MP3 player. I was also able to hook up a CD player, never tried the satellite radio but the theory is the same.
     
  6. ngsm13

    ngsm13 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2006
    Messages:
    2,706
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Cincinnati, OH
    If you want to do it right, I would look into the Alpine Vehicle Hub.

    This would be a great/correct way to do it. It has a hide-away brain, then a small control unit (like a remote control).

    All the pre-outs, audio processing, etc is done through the brain. Even has full-speed iPod capability.

    Oh, but you need a screen.
     
  7. Kieffer87

    Kieffer87 Orly OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2005
    Messages:
    1,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Where the Green Grass Grows
    I used to run a 4ch amp off my mp3 player. I didn't really care about the rear as it was just for fill anyways. I just used a headphone->rca cable and a y-adaptor at the amp. Sounded pretty damn good too.
     

Share This Page