Trying to make a screenshot of a video.

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by Ham Sammich, Mar 17, 2007.

  1. Ham Sammich

    Ham Sammich New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2005
    Messages:
    14,352
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Victoria, BC
    For some reason If i use print screen while watching a movie i want to make a screenshot of when i paste the picture in paint or adobe photoshop if i move the video player(i am using winamp) in the screenshot the video screen will move. I thought this is just a picture of your screen how can it move by moving the player. I really want to take a screen shot but it will not work. Can anyone help me why does it do this?
     
  2. CasualSex

    CasualSex Stan Smith

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2005
    Messages:
    130
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    KC
    I think it may have something to do with it being hardware accelerated. Try turning hardware acceleration off and take a screen shot. Otherwise use an image grabber program to grab screens from the video
     
  3. Supergeek

    Supergeek New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2007
    Messages:
    1,855
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Colorado
    Media Player Classic (google it) will allow you to save an image directly from the File menu. It's a small program, free, and very popular.
     
  4. Ham Sammich

    Ham Sammich New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2005
    Messages:
    14,352
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Victoria, BC
  5. Corp

    Corp OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2003
    Messages:
    28,201
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Providence, RI
    just press ctrl+i
     
  6. copiertalk

    copiertalk Secure Our Borders! OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2003
    Messages:
    5,695
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    west texas
    you just want a screen from that app?

    alt-prtscn will put a sceen on your clipboard, load paint, paste it. click file save as >
     
  7. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    does not work if you have a decent video card.
     
  8. copiertalk

    copiertalk Secure Our Borders! OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2003
    Messages:
    5,695
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    west texas
    windows shortcuts do not work with some video cards?

    I never knew that.
     
  9. copiertalk

    copiertalk Secure Our Borders! OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2003
    Messages:
    5,695
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    west texas
    [​IMG]

    seems to work with my expensive video card. I am not an expert though.
     
  10. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    :rofl: you're a fucking moron :rofl:

    You took a screen cap of msie... that is NOT wmp. A decent video card will support hardware exceleration which means the video is rendered in an overlay on the gpu... the video frame is not available at the framebuffer where windows generates it's screencap.

    Therefore, a decent vid card will use hardware acceleration and will not support video caps from movies (you have to manually drop it down the the shitty quality way of rendering).
     
  11. Corp

    Corp OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2003
    Messages:
    28,201
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Providence, RI
    videos are overlayed, firefox is not. try the same thing with a movie playing, you'll just get a black screen
     
  12. copiertalk

    copiertalk Secure Our Borders! OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2003
    Messages:
    5,695
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    west texas
    thanks, I did not know that.

    What about the screen cap app everyone uses in OTAH, could he possibly use that or would it produce a black screen as well?
     
  13. dorkultra

    dorkultra OT's resident crohns dude OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2005
    Messages:
    22,743
    Likes Received:
    27
    Location:
    yinzer / nilbog, trollhio
    vlc will brag still frame shots, decent quality ones too and make a file out of them.
    at least it will on my macbook, should do the same for windows
     
  14. Corp

    Corp OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2003
    Messages:
    28,201
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Providence, RI
    all you have to do in wmp and wmp classic(not sure about vlc) is press ctrl+i and it will save the shot as .jpg
     

Share This Page