COMIC Trying to get into the Punisher MAX series...

Discussion in 'Entertainment' started by BlackMagik55, Feb 13, 2008.

1. BlackMagik55

BlackMagik55 "9 millimetres. I'm never further away than that.

Just decided to pick up volume 1: In the beginning of the Punisher Max series. I just wanted to know since I'm fairly new to all this, is how does the order go in this series? Like are individual issues released, then eventually are compressed to create the volumes? And, I'd also like to know what issues each volume contains, so that if I want to start reading the individual comics, I know which issues I haven't read. Any help sorting all this Marvel confusion would be greatly appreciated.

2. void

void oh yeah?

It's the same in all comics, issues are released in anything from done-in-one arcs (one issue) to many (12+ issues). these arcs are collected into a "trade paperback" format, or TPBs. This term is generic, since I too collect the Punisher MAX "TPBs" but I collect the hardcovers. HC would be the proper term. In this case the punisher max TPBs are 6 issues (one arc) and the hardcovers are 12 issues (two arcs). The bonus about the hardcovers is that they're oversized, but the downside is you have to wait longer for them to come out (doesn't effect me since I buy the individual issues as well).

ANYWAYS, garth ennis puts his punisher max arcs in a 6 issue format, except this last arc, which was only 5 books. Since this upcoming story is his last arc, it may be 7 issues long, or it's a regular 6 issues and his last issue (#60) will be a single story or something. So every 12 issues a new hardcover book is made for punisher max, that contains your two story arcs.

basically, you're starting at the very beginning with vol 1 in the punisher max universe...their's no marvel continuity, it's a self contained world filled with absolutely NO superheroes. So it's like Frank Castle lives in our real world, except it's impossible to kill the fucker.

3. THE LIOG