Troubleshoot this one..

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by jdw, Jun 22, 2008.

  1. jdw

    jdw New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2005
    Messages:
    4,429
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    ND
    Specs:
    Q6600
    Crucial Ballistix Tracer - 2GB
    Abit IX38 Quad GT MoBo
    CoolerMaster 750W PSU
    80GB WD HDD
    500GB WD HDD
    XFX 8600GT

    Plugged a buddy's SATA drive in to test some things. Shut the system down and unplugged it, put my side panel back on (plugging in my side fan), and tried to re-boot and nothing.

    I'm getting post codes:
    8.2. - Enable ATX power supply
    8.3. - ATX Power supply ready
    9.9. - Complete power off sequence

    That'll run in constant rotation until I pull power from it.


    If I unplug the HDD and DVD-RW it'll hold at 8.2. It did cycle through once but that's it.
     
  2. Doc Brown

    Doc Brown Don't make me make you my hobby

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2006
    Messages:
    16,404
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ohio
    Abit makes some good boards, but they're notorious for their early bios revisions being crappy.

    What you need to do is reset the cmos to defaults.

    See if that helps get you booted up. If it does, you want to go straight to the Abit site to see if there's an updated bios you can run.
     
  3. jdw

    jdw New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2005
    Messages:
    4,429
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    ND
    Well I tried reseting the CMOS once before I posted... I did it again and it magically booted.
    Currently sitting in the BIOS with post code 7F.

    I know there are new BIOS for this board but I was putting off updating - wasn't aware there was a problem (it's been perfectly fine the last month and a half or so since I built it.)
     
  4. jdw

    jdw New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2005
    Messages:
    4,429
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    ND
    well that was nerve racking - first computer build and I went a little 'big'... I'm nervous about something going wrong...

    Picked through the BIOS quick and rebooted and thankfully we're back up.

    Do you have any reccomendations for a windows based BIOS update tool? I know a buddy from work uses one but IIRC he said it was flakey sometimes. Might be forced to order a floppy drive for it now - should have one on hand anyway.
     
  5. Doc Brown

    Doc Brown Don't make me make you my hobby

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2006
    Messages:
    16,404
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ohio
    I had to do it on my P35 Abit board, but I can't remember which app I used for it.
    Wait for Doomsday to see this thread, and he'll fill you in.
     
  6. jdw

    jdw New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2005
    Messages:
    4,429
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    ND
    On a side note, did you ever run uGuru? I haven't tried again - but I for the life of me couldn't get that to install. Kept telling me I didn't have admin permissions even though I logged in as administrator. Should be a new version out now I hope that I'll have to try.
     
  7. Doomsday

    Doomsday XXX

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2000
    Messages:
    14,902
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Minnesota
    :nono:
    windows based, specially Abit's flashmenu = too risky
    use a floppy or a usb thumb drive.

    just follow the instructions here:
    http://forum.abit-usa.com/showthread.php?t=130290
    or here
    http://forum.abit-usa.com/showthread.php?t=121953

    just ask if you don't understand something.

    just in case you fuck up: :mamoru:
    http://www.uabit.com/WebStore/produ...ucts_id=242&osCsid=r74rtaas4cdbk592bst1fd2o15
     
  8. Doomsday

    Doomsday XXX

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2000
    Messages:
    14,902
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Minnesota
    uninstall uguru, remove registry entries, re-install or try a diff version
    if any doesn't work, don't bother.
     

Share This Page