Troubleshoot: Computer Lockup Problem

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by Gavin, Jun 19, 2004.

  1. Gavin

    Gavin Active Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2001
    Messages:
    24,516
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Denver, CO
    So I'm fixing a computer for a family friend and I can't seem to figure out what is going on. I basically reformatted the hard drive and put a fresh copy of Win98SE on it. Nothing else as of yet.

    The problem seems to be that the computer will completely lock up once you leave it idle for a moment. It'll start up just fine, you can do some things and then you leave it alone and it just goes. Keyboard/mouse don't respond and the image on the monitor is frozen.

    Computer specs:

    Pentium3 450mhz
    192mb ram
    9gig hd
    ATI 3d Rage Pro vid card
    Win98SE

    I am hoping someone can help me out with this because I've pretty much run out of ideas. I've unhooked the 2 cd rom drives, zip drive, floppy drive, even the sound card. The only thing connected is the video card, NIC, and hard drive.
     
  2. Zourn

    Zourn 16-bit Ninja OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2002
    Messages:
    2,354
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Texas
    I'm going to guess Power supply.
     
  3. Gavin

    Gavin Active Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2001
    Messages:
    24,516
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Denver, CO
    I already swapped a different power supply into it. Another thing too, when I booted the computer up and just ran Memtest in DOS, it ran for days. But Win98 just can't stay running. It's also too slow to try to install XP.
     
  4. lordbean

    lordbean Guest

    no it isn't. Win XP runs fine on a P2 350 w/ 128MB ram, I don't see why it wouldn't run on this comp.
     
  5. col_panic

    col_panic calm like a bomb Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2003
    Messages:
    188,160
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    winter haven, fl
  6. Gavin

    Gavin Active Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2001
    Messages:
    24,516
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Denver, CO
    That's a very helpful site, thanks.
     
  7. irichie

    irichie New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2002
    Messages:
    1,297
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    wtf? :ugh:

    wow .. at least 256 with severe tweaking .. turning off themes, all services


    you could try xp it will run like shit but should be fine for just internet browsting

    also try taking out the nic will it still lock up? sounds like an IRQ conflict .. is it an AGP card?
     
  8. col_panic

    col_panic calm like a bomb Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2003
    Messages:
    188,160
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    winter haven, fl
    you can run xp on well under 256. i have one box that runs just fine on 160
     
  9. cmsurfer

    cmsurfer ºllllllº

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2003
    Messages:
    5,079
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    NJ
    Ditto, I've seen XP on a machine at about 450Mhz and it ran fine.

    I think your problem might be heat. Make sure all the fans are running and that the heatsink/fan attached to the processor is mounted correctly and working.

    You can always download a program like Motherboard monitor to see how hot everything is...
     
  10. lordbean

    lordbean Guest

    assuming his board has sensors. Some of the older ones don't.
     
  11. Gavin

    Gavin Active Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2001
    Messages:
    24,516
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Denver, CO
    I just loaded up XP onto it and the lockup problem seemed to have gone away. :dunno:

    It definitely wasn't a heat problem or any type of IRQ conflict because I basically disconnected everything except the hard drive and it would still lock up.

    Now I'm in the process of removing services to save RAM.
     
  12. irichie

    irichie New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2002
    Messages:
    1,297
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    i guess it just depends on how picky you are ... i have a p3 800 laptop and it ran like shit to me with 256 ..

    :dunno:
     

Share This Page