Troubleshoot a problem with me.

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by SeeVinceRun, Jan 20, 2008.

  1. SeeVinceRun

    SeeVinceRun Currently In Prison OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2005
    Messages:
    1,124
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Kansas City, MO
    I have an old PC that im trying to get to run. I have a working hard drive as well as a working cd drive. Here is the problem

    I go into bios, tell it to boot from CD, and then I have to detect the hard drive in the bios. It detects....kinda. Its a bunch of jibberish sometimes, but other times it detects it fine. CD always detects fine. This happens with any number of hardrives that are known to be fine.

    So on the off instance the hard drive detects, ill load up my windows CD and try to boot from CD. No dice. I get a "please insert boot disk" error. I tried to fdisk to delete any partitions, but that wont work either. It seems that there is literally no way to get ANY hard drives to load any OS with this PC. Im thinking the old as hell mobo is shot, but id like any tips.


    EDIT- CD and HD are IDE, have made sure each is pri master, set them up any way you can think and moved them to different IDE ports.
    Im sure there is plenty im leaving out, so feel free to ask.
     
  2. Doc Brown

    Doc Brown Don't make me make you my hobby

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2006
    Messages:
    16,404
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ohio
    Clear cmos

    Try a different IDE cable
     
  3. SeeVinceRun

    SeeVinceRun Currently In Prison OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2005
    Messages:
    1,124
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Kansas City, MO
    Did both, several times. Still fucked.
     
  4. etech

    etech New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2002
    Messages:
    4,660
    Likes Received:
    0
    Run memtest86+ and see if the memory will check out.

    Then download the hard drives diagnostics and see if they will detect the hard drive.
     
  5. SeeVinceRun

    SeeVinceRun Currently In Prison OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2005
    Messages:
    1,124
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Kansas City, MO
    mem is good.

    Hard drive detects, but wont write to it.
     
  6. SeeVinceRun

    SeeVinceRun Currently In Prison OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2005
    Messages:
    1,124
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Kansas City, MO
    WTF! why is this piece of shit always detecting the HD as primary slave? God I hate old ass hardware.
     
  7. awns729

    awns729 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2008
    Messages:
    353
    Likes Received:
    0
    Jumpers? Instead of cable, try master, or vice versa.
     
  8. SeeVinceRun

    SeeVinceRun Currently In Prison OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2005
    Messages:
    1,124
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Kansas City, MO
    Im not retarded, the jumpers are set to master. and the drive is in the amster slot on the IDE cable.

    Edit- didnt mean to snap at you. This PC is just a giant peice of crap that irritates me.
     
  9. awns729

    awns729 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2008
    Messages:
    353
    Likes Received:
    0
    You tried switching around the ports that the CD and HDD are plugged into on the mobo I'm sure? Did you try messing aroudn w/ HDD settings in BIOS? Are there some options there that you can play with? Or manually input the HDD configuration?
     

Share This Page