GUN Trouble with my G23 v. Need experienced advice.

Discussion in 'On Topic' started by Luciano, Jul 25, 2008.

1. Luciano

Luciano Guest

A month or so ago, i acted on an opporitunity to purchase a gently used G23. I love the feel, weight, and size for CC. But, that brings me to my issue.
    I will be the first to admit taht i am a relative newbie to the firearm/carrying world. Having grown up in the south, i did pistol hunt varmints, rifle and shotgun hunt deer and waterfowl, and kept myself licensed, through classes, every seaon. Im not a gun-retard, but i do not consider myself an experienced firearm owner. I say all that to say my decision in a CC weapon has been a long process of trial and error, gathering information by asking "counter commandos", reading as many books and write-ups that i can get my hands on, and of course WMD :) .

Ive put 600+/- rounds of varying loads through my *new* handgun standing still, at speed, changing my environment, and im just generally unhappy with how im performing with this weapon. I dont feel comfortable with the power of the .40.

I cant ask anyone here to tell me what to buy next, but i do have a chance to unload my G23 on a buddy, and get enough out of it to damn near cover a new in box G19 set.

Ive rented a few 9mm, to see if perhaps a decrease in caliber would do the trick. I do admit taht im a little more....well....settled with the 9mm, but only time and a thousand rounds will tell. Opinions/advice? Man up and practice with the .40 until its solid? Make the change before i develop poor habits?

2. Luciano

Luciano Guest

Addendum: A few concerns...

I dont want to get into a "knock-down power" :hsugh: debate here, but lets be honest. 9mm<.40 , obviously. But, if i can place more shots better with it, wouldnt that overcome the difference?