SRS Trouble in the Dorms

Discussion in 'On Topic' started by No27Blend, Nov 1, 2006.

1. No27Blend

No27Blend New Member

Im a a first year student right now living in the dorms on campus. Im 18 and have been smoking cigarettes for about a year now and weed for a couple of months. I told myself that I would give both up when I came here to school but that has obviously failed as my 3 floormates do both alot. It's always available to me and I always give in because they know that I smoked weed and enjoy it. I do enjoy it but it's too much with my workload. How can I tell them I want to stop? How can I stop?

2. Coottie

Coottie BOOMER......SOONER OT Supporter

You seem to think that people that struggle with the disease of addiction simply tell people in their lives that they don't drink and that's all there is to it. Well the reality is, that's not all there is to it. We can go buy beer or alcohol just like anyone else but we choose not to. We simply put off taking that first drink till someother time. We don't have to say we quit for good....people usually don't live up to that kind of standard. We simply say, we aren't going to drink right now. We just put off taking that first drink.

However, if you are an alcoholic like me, then that's just not enough to keep you going. I had to have help dealing with all the other shit in my life that I couldn't ignore when I was sober. That's why AA helps because it helps one deal with all that other stuff.

When I was getting sober, I thought I can't be an alcoholic because alcoholics crave alcohol and I don't crave it. Well what I had to realize is I didn't crave it because anytime I wanted it, I simply drank. I also didn't realize that changing my mind was part of it also. I thought it was natural to show up at a bar, determined not to drink, then leave drunk.....I just thought I changed my mind but I learned that it's not that simple.

I dunno if any of that helps but hope so.

3. Kirk Hinrich

Kirk Hinrich New Member