Trouble finding a car.

Discussion in 'OT Driven' started by rengo, Sep 14, 2004.

1. rengo

rengo Are you ready to rock, BK broiler!?

My dad has decided that he wants to get me out of my Mazda b-series for some reason. He said he'll front 5000$ for a new car for me. I'm basically a broke college student with nothing else to add to that. So, I have 5000$ to buy a new car. After driving my mazda to 358,000 miles I want something that will be just as reliable.
    So far we've been close to buying a Suburu Outback Sport, which fell through but would've been a perfect car for me (although it was automatic). The other car was a 95 Honda Civic LX..which turned out to have a salvaged/rebuilt title..so we passed on that.

What I'm Looking for:
    - < 5000$
    - manual transmission
    - decent gas mileage
    - reliable (at least able to put 100k on it)
    - looks decent

Anyone have any ideas? Open to all suggestions.

Otherwise I'm just gonna be hoping my Mazda will hit 400k.

Last edited: Sep 14, 2004
  2. MilkManDan007

MilkManDan007 New Member

I've got a 1997 Ford Explorer XLT I'll let you have for $6,500. My last one (a 1993) ran to 178,000 miles with no problems and the lady who has it now has racked up about 40,000 more, still with no engine or transmission problems.

It fits almost none of your criteria, but it is for sale.
    1997 Explorer XLT, 4.0L V6, 4x4, Auto, Power everything, newer tires, up to date on maintenance, no dings.dents, good glass, about 113,000 miles.

I also have a 1995 Toyota Tacoma pickup for sale. $9,500 (a little more expensive), 5 speed, 2.7L 4cylinder, 4x4, only 90,000 miles. Custom color matched locking topper, new all terrain tires, recent tune up and full service. Nice aftermarket CD player and speakers.

If you're interested, drop me a line. Scottish Penguin @ AOL . COM

Let me know if you're interested.

3. rengo

Edited first post to include: Decent Gas Mileage. :)