A&P tried doing HDR for the first time today

Discussion in 'Lifestyle' started by eWRXshun, Apr 16, 2007.

  1. eWRXshun

    eWRXshun hai

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2003
    Messages:
    16,666
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    LSU
    holy shit that picture came out looking like a turd.

    series of 10 RAW photos, saved to .psd. when converting in bridge, i unchecked all of the bridge automatic adjustments.

    when CS2 compiled them not only was the overall picture blurry, but there were actual chunks of shit missing in some points like an error. tried the compiling again in photomatix, same thing.

    photos were shot in manual mode with a fixed aperture and on a tripod. adjusted the exposure in 1 stop increments.

    not even going to post the picture because it looks so shitty.

    anybody else have the same results first time around? pointers?
     
  2. NJGuy

    NJGuy "Fuckmefuckmefuckmefuckmef uckmefuckmefuckmefuckm OT Supporter

    Joined:
    May 19, 2005
    Messages:
    22,756
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    wtf, USA
    You dont need so many photos.

    Learn to use exposure bracketing on your camera.
    Use a tripod even in the day.
     
  3. Burmonster

    Burmonster OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2005
    Messages:
    45,078
    Likes Received:
    48
    Location:
    Atlanta, GA
    oh, post the picture.
     
  4. eWRXshun

    eWRXshun hai

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2003
    Messages:
    16,666
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    LSU
    shitHDRattempt.jpg
     
  5. AMGSiR

    AMGSiR New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2005
    Messages:
    81
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Canada
  6. Nullius

    Nullius New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2005
    Messages:
    8,259
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Maranda
    yeah it creates great contrast in color and is completely random. if you know what to do with it it'll never get old
     
  7. eWRXshun

    eWRXshun hai

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2003
    Messages:
    16,666
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    LSU
    you've been on here for 2 years and have had less than 50 posts. try to keep it that way, i didn't make this thread so some cuntcake could post his own pictures, i made this thread to see if anybody else had the same problem as i and how they fixed it.

    piss off, shitbrick. nice pictures, but you've been no help.
     
  8. mobbarley

    mobbarley Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2005
    Messages:
    9,256
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Sydney
    ive never used hdr software but here are some general ideas:

    Why 10 photos? I would have thought 2-3 would be plenty.
    What tripod do you have? a $0-50 one probably wont do the trick.
    Was there any wind?
    Are you using a remote so you dont bump the camera?
    Did you bracket the shots using the aperture value (bad) or shutter time (good)
     
  9. AMGSiR

    AMGSiR New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2005
    Messages:
    81
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Canada
    haha, christ dude, no need to be so harsh.

    I posted em and ran out the door to a track day. Just walked back in.


    Are you saying in your original post that the photo's lack clarity like something was lost in the processing. Or is there actually parts completely missing like a digital error somewhere along the line?
     
  10. IntheWorks

    IntheWorks windin film.. takin pics Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2001
    Messages:
    16,928
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    earth
    if you've moved your camera even the tiniest amount HDR programs won't work properly. either use your camera's bracketing feature, or use a super sturdy tripod and a cable release.
     
  11. TurkeyChicken

    TurkeyChicken New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2003
    Messages:
    42,913
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Albuquerque, NM

    or lightroom :o
     
  12. eWRXshun

    eWRXshun hai

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2003
    Messages:
    16,666
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    LSU
    i'm just being a typical OT hardass :o

    it actually looks like pixels missing, gives the effect that you kind of get when you're watching satellite TV and the signal goes bad, parts of the image are gone. not huge chunks, but definitely noticeable.
     
  13. eWRXshun

    eWRXshun hai

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2003
    Messages:
    16,666
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    LSU
    - the site i read the tutorial on used 7 images, it said the more the better.
    - some shitty velbon, i'll probably spring for a manfrotto/bogen over the summer.
    - there was some wind but under 10mph.
    - i do not have a remote.
    - bracketed them manually by adjusting exposure time, left aperature the same throughout. manual focus as well.
     
  14. AMGSiR

    AMGSiR New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2005
    Messages:
    81
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Canada
    I'm no expert.. but if you have digital artifacts .. sounds like an error in one of the programs you were using.. or your camera! Not something you did.
     
  15. eWRXshun

    eWRXshun hai

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2003
    Messages:
    16,666
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    LSU
    i went for a drive a little while ago and tried it again using the bracket feature instead of doing it manually. no problems with the image itself, per se, i just suck at manipulating the curves. colors coming out too fake looking, shadows too dark in some areas.

    subjects aren't the greatest, wish there were actual clouds out today.

    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    complete with uber 1337 borders.
     
  16. eWRXshun

    eWRXshun hai

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2003
    Messages:
    16,666
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    LSU
    and a runthrough with photomatix. still not excited about the turnout, but better:
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    the more i look at the bottom pic, the more i wish i caught some space by the back of the building instead of being cut off right at the end corner.
     
  17. eWRXshun

    eWRXshun hai

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2003
    Messages:
    16,666
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    LSU
    some more playing with photomatix and a tighter crop:
    [​IMG]
     
  18. 1.8

    1.8 Guest

    Ridiculously better
     
  19. eWRXshun

    eWRXshun hai

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2003
    Messages:
    16,666
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    LSU
    and the other: [​IMG]
     
  20. mobbarley

    mobbarley Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2005
    Messages:
    9,256
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Sydney
    yes i can see considerable fringing on the edges, the camera has moved.

    get a good tripod
    take less photos at more stops appart (less chance of moving the cam)
    use a remote to limit the button pressing
     
  21. eWRXshun

    eWRXshun hai

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2003
    Messages:
    16,666
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    LSU
    these were done with AEB at +/-2, burst mode with the self timer. set the timer and when it counted down, it fired off the 3 shots.
    if there's any movement, its minimal. when i look at the full size (non-cropped, non-resized) they look a lot crisper. i think the resizing is making them look like shit.
     
  22. mobbarley

    mobbarley Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2005
    Messages:
    9,256
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Sydney
    you callin me a liar? take the advice noob :bash:
     
  23. eWRXshun

    eWRXshun hai

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2003
    Messages:
    16,666
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    LSU
    liar.
     
  24. TurkeyChicken

    TurkeyChicken New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2003
    Messages:
    42,913
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Albuquerque, NM
  25. eWRXshun

    eWRXshun hai

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2003
    Messages:
    16,666
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    LSU
    not using photoshop, using photomatix and then the crop/resize in photoshop with other minor adjustments as well.

    that's the HDR tutorial i tried with CS2 but i can't get the colors right with the tone curve when you get to the change to 16bit step worth a damn.

    post #15 is the CS2 HDR version, the rest are photomatix.
     

Share This Page