MMA Training help v. weight lifting

Discussion in 'OT Bar' started by RockDaBoat, Mar 19, 2009.

1. RockDaBoat

RockDaBoat New Member

I feel like a complete n00b asking this, but I like to thinkI know what I'm doing, I just need a little direction! (Just don't point me towards the F&N stickies!)

Before I started training in MMA/BJJ I was an avid weight lifter and my training was geared towards max strength and 1RM in the three major lifts, deadlift, squat and bench.

But obviously that's not going to work too well in a sport that needs constant and consistant explosiveness. I've been toying with different Olympic lifts and some plyrometrics, but if you guys could post ideas/what you do, or an article that I could use, it'd be great.

Also, how do you guys fit it in? Before I got injured (2-3 weeks ago :hs:), I was training MMA twice a week, with BJJ once a week. I'd get to the gym twice a week max (on top of runs, squash, soccer etc etc), but I'd also be too sore before I went in and my muscles would be exhausted to give max effort the next day.

Thanks for any/all help.

2. teep

teep New Member

deadlifts and squats are still good. cleans, olympic lifts, snatches, plyometrics are also good- shit like box jumps, clap pushups, etc

There's only so much you can do. if you're involved in other sports too obviously you can't do as much. for most people mma/bjj alone is more than enough. i'd say lift at the very least 3 times a week if strength is a high priority.

3. jag6984

jag6984 New Member

A simple 5x5 program like this: http://stronglifts.com/stronglifts-5x5-beginner-strength-training-program/

is a good start. I found you can make very good gains with it, and it's simple to follow. Also, adding things like olympic lifts, overhead/front squats, and plyometrics is easy to do; i.e substitute the deadlifts for olympic lifts, etc...

I was doing savate and this, and noticed that my overall speed increased a lot compared to everyone else in my class.