trade my iMac for a MacPro? v.shouldI

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by kmad86, Mar 25, 2009.

  1. kmad86

    kmad86 Swine Epidemic Survival Crew '09 OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2003
    Messages:
    15,301
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Ft. Smith, AR
    I can trade my iMac 24" 2.8Ghz Core2Duo w/ 4GB of Ram for a MacPro (2006) 2.66Ghz Quad-Core ?


    The monitor thing isn't an issue.



    edit: I ran Xbench on both the MacPro and my iMac... My iMac shows better results in every category! Would that have to do with the 4GB of ram vs 2GB? I'm lost!
     
    Last edited: Mar 25, 2009
  2. eighteen_psi

    eighteen_psi Active Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2003
    Messages:
    2,381
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    925
    How the hell does your 2 core stand a chance vs. a quad? I say go for it. I still have a 2006 4x3.0 that kicks huge amounts of ass. You can get an 8800GT (or better) for it (prly has base 7300GT now?), run 32GB RAM in it, among other things.

    iMac hasn't a change, other than the all in one + display thing.

    edit: try geekbench for CPU/memory test - with free benchmark (so only 32 bit), I get 5932 on the quad.
     
  3. kmad86

    kmad86 Swine Epidemic Survival Crew '09 OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2003
    Messages:
    15,301
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Ft. Smith, AR



    Where's the best place for me to get ram for this?

    I ran the GeekBench 32Bit

    MacPro - 5398
    iMac - 3653

    Wow, I guess the Pro does blow it away.



    Oh, and right now I have an extra 23" Cinema. I want to run duals, any opinions on a good reasonable priced monitor that's around 23-25" ?
     
  4. eighteen_psi

    eighteen_psi Active Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2003
    Messages:
    2,381
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    925
    I get my ram from ramjet.com, a little more than other places but still not bad. Best service evar too. As far as the monitor, you won't beat a second used ACD for the money. Quality panels that are SPVA or SIPS are hard to find for a humane price anymore.

    Stuff 8GB+ in there and probably upgrade the video too if its the base 7300GT. My 8800GT rocks, but there are other options too for less money. It was an OK deal when it was fresh but its way overpriced now if you buy it new.
     
  5. ady

    ady New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2005
    Messages:
    10,959
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    UK
    The 2.8GHz penryn is faster than a 3GHz 2006 Mac Pro for things that don't need more than 2 cores. Probably has better memory speed and lower latency due to the 667Mhz FB-DIMMs on the Mac Pro too.
     
  6. eighteen_psi

    eighteen_psi Active Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2003
    Messages:
    2,381
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    925
    So run more stuff :mamoru:
    Mac Pro > iMac
     
  7. ady

    ady New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2005
    Messages:
    10,959
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    UK
    Well yeah, but it's not a case of being a no brainer. Really depends what you want to do with it.

    kmad, the cheapest place for memory is probably OWC

    If you want to do any 3D stuff with it buy a Radeon 3870 ($220) from them too, cheaper than a 8800GT and runs everything but games faster. Though the new 4870 works too, but you'd need a mini displayport to dvi adapter for two displays so you are looking at over $300.
     
  8. kmad86

    kmad86 Swine Epidemic Survival Crew '09 OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2003
    Messages:
    15,301
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Ft. Smith, AR
    All I do is run about 15 internet tabs at a time. I also am constantly using excel, myihome, transmission, vine server, StarPlayr2, and a big processor hog I would figure is VMware Fusion which I run all the time to emulate windows.


    So basically, I don't do much. But I love the fact that I can use multiple hard drives in the MacPro (I randomly corrupt a harddrive when I improperly eject it on accident. Also, my iMac runs extremely hot all the time (I use it around 8-12 hours a day and never shut it off)


    Most people tell me that I don't need the MacPro, but it's a straight trade out in the situation I am in, and if I will benefit any speed with the MacPro then I am happy.
     
  9. kmad86

    kmad86 Swine Epidemic Survival Crew '09 OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2003
    Messages:
    15,301
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Ft. Smith, AR
    Do you mean the ADC connection Apple monitors? I don't want one of those ugly white things. I would much rather sell my 23" Aluminum and buy like two Samsungs that are about the same size.
     
  10. kmad86

    kmad86 Swine Epidemic Survival Crew '09 OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2003
    Messages:
    15,301
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Ft. Smith, AR
    People told me it wasn't possible, but I took my old iMac hard drive out and put it in this MacPro just to try out and it works fine and boots no problem. Am I better off to reinstall Leopard on this hard drive, could some files and drivers be incorrect since I just plugged it straight into the MP?
     
  11. ady

    ady New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2005
    Messages:
    10,959
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    UK
    Sounds to me like you would benefit from the Mac Pro. I think what eighteen_psi was getting at on the monitor thing was try and find a used (or refurbished) 23" Apple Cinema Display to compliment your existing one. Getting something close to the quality of that will run you $500-$600.
     
  12. eighteen_psi

    eighteen_psi Active Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2003
    Messages:
    2,381
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    925
    Yep, this. And yeah, get the 3870, the apple 8800GT is mad overpriced now.

    Also, does the 4870 in fact work in 2006s? Linkage? I kinda want one :mamoru: IIRC its a hack-only proposition at this point thanks to 32 bit EFI in the 2006.
     
  13. kmad86

    kmad86 Swine Epidemic Survival Crew '09 OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2003
    Messages:
    15,301
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Ft. Smith, AR
    Would I be losing something moving from a Aluminum 23" Cinema to some Samsung displays? I can get rid of this for the same price I can get into two of the Sammys.
     
  14. eighteen_psi

    eighteen_psi Active Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2003
    Messages:
    2,381
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    925
    Post links to the monitors' specs, then I can say. I run samsung 204Ts and 244Ts which are all S-PVA panels. Without getting ubergeeky on it, that's more or less equivalent to the S-IPS flavor used in the Apples, IE, good color, good viewing angles and all that.

    Most monitors now (and all the cheaper ones) use a TN panel, which is relative garbage in the above areas, but much less expensive to manufacture. And easier to make 'faster' for gaming and what not. The ACD is a great monitor, I wouldn't toss it if I were you.
     
  15. ady

    ady New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2005
    Messages:
    10,959
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    UK
    Rob-Art of Barefeats pulled a drive from a 2009 Mac Pro and put it in a 2007 8 core, so 2006 should be no different, and put the 4870 in and it worked fine. Once 10.5.7 comes out it'll be clearer.
     
  16. kmad86

    kmad86 Swine Epidemic Survival Crew '09 OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2003
    Messages:
    15,301
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Ft. Smith, AR
    What about this Samsung T220?

    Screen size: 22' Widescreen
    Brightness: 300 cd/m2
    Contrast Ratio: DC 20,000:1(1000:1)(Typ.)
    Resolution: 1680 x 1050 (WSXGA+)
    Response Time: 2ms(GTG)
    Viewing Angle(H/V): 170/160 (CR>10)
    Color Supported: 16.7 M


    What am I looking for? Where would it say if it's an SPVA panel?
     
  17. eighteen_psi

    eighteen_psi Active Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2003
    Messages:
    2,381
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    925
    With completely bogus response and contrast specs like that, its certainly a TN. And it is. Its also lower resolution than your existing apple if its a 23". Trust me when I say the Apple is a dramatically superior panel to that thing if you're doing anything but gaming. Or possibly watching movies for entertainment purposes...if you're dead on center. Newegg specs cover the TN part, first review on there speaks to why TN panels suck.

    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16824001273
     
    Last edited: Mar 26, 2009
  18. kmad86

    kmad86 Swine Epidemic Survival Crew '09 OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2003
    Messages:
    15,301
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Ft. Smith, AR


    Damn, I really don't want to spend 500 dollars on a monitor, I have a 20" Aluminum around here but the 3" is a large difference when you've been on a 24" and a 23"
     
  19. kmad86

    kmad86 Swine Epidemic Survival Crew '09 OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2003
    Messages:
    15,301
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Ft. Smith, AR
    Last edited: Mar 26, 2009
  20. DouggieJ

    DouggieJ OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2007
    Messages:
    8,126
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    New York, NY USA
  21. eighteen_psi

    eighteen_psi Active Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2003
    Messages:
    2,381
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    925
    Non sinked memory will work just fine but it'll run hotter, and possibly make the machine louder. Personally, I'd shell out a little more and get stuff with the sinks on it. FBs make some heat.
     
  22. kmad86

    kmad86 Swine Epidemic Survival Crew '09 OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2003
    Messages:
    15,301
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Ft. Smith, AR
    Damn, it's such a good deal.
     
  23. eighteen_psi

    eighteen_psi Active Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2003
    Messages:
    2,381
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    925
    Eh, get em.

    I ran a quad of generic with my quad of sink'd for a while. They ran a lot hotter but never caused me a problem. FWIW, one or more of your fans may pick up a little speed to deal with the temperature rise, but the Mac Pro is so damn quiet in the first place you probably won't notice. All my fans stay between 500 and 600 RPM no matter what I do to the machine now, I got the rear up to 800 or something like that with quad of generics in there. The 8800GT fan is still the loudest thing in the case.
     
  24. DouggieJ

    DouggieJ OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2007
    Messages:
    8,126
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    New York, NY USA
  25. eighteen_psi

    eighteen_psi Active Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2003
    Messages:
    2,381
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    925

Share This Page