touchpad pro for the iphone

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by gui3, Mar 5, 2008.

  1. gui3

    gui3 all the dude ever wanted was his rug back

    Joined:
    May 6, 2000
    Messages:
    9,498
    Likes Received:
    2
    first of all - i was skeptical about jailbreaking 1.1.4.

    but i did it with ziphone, and it was ridiculously easy.

    i just installed this:

    http://touchpadiphone.blogspot.com/2008/03/introducing-touchpad-pro.html

    it seems to work, but it's running very slow. i'm doing a lot of cpu-heavy stuff right now so that might be the problem.

    the concept is cool as hell though.
     
  2. xenon supra

    xenon supra OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2005
    Messages:
    33,675
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    i missed around with it the other day. seemed cool, but i dont have any real use for it.

    i cant get vnsea to work on mine, can you? the package wont download
     
  3. TheWeasel

    TheWeasel Guest

    Vnsea works fine for me. I'm using firmware version 1.1.4 That error are you getting when you try to download it?
     
  4. xenon supra

    xenon supra OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2005
    Messages:
    33,675
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    nope, it says package download failed.

    i tried to download it from the google code site but its a pxl file and i dont know how to install that via SSH
     
  5. TheWeasel

    TheWeasel Guest

    I got mine from the Conceited Software repository. Have you updated to their new source location?
     
  6. xenon supra

    xenon supra OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2005
    Messages:
    33,675
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    hook a brotha up
     
  7. gui3

    gui3 all the dude ever wanted was his rug back

    Joined:
    May 6, 2000
    Messages:
    9,498
    Likes Received:
    2
    i'm writing all this up bc i was really psyched for an app like this to come out...

    after testing it out a bit - i find it is pretty useful as a mouse to be used next to a wireless keyboard....although i can't get any multitouch functionality to work.

    it slows down too much when there are processor-heavy applications running.

    and, i'm having some trouble connecting:
    - when i'm on my wifi connection, i have to use one connection with my MBP's IP address.
    - when i'm not on my network, i have to turn on an ad-hoc network and use a 2nd connection
    - when i'm connected to the internet using my verizon EVDO card, i can't connect at all even when i have an ad-hoc network set up.

    all this would be fixed if it could connect over bluetooth.
     
  8. TheWeasel

    TheWeasel Guest

  9. xenon supra

    xenon supra OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2005
    Messages:
    33,675
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    it still fails. i probably need to remove the other source its trying to get it from.

    i have like 15 sources tho :hs:
     

Share This Page