Took out my Pioneer from tC, put in Eclipse AVN5435

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by ISO9002, Jul 12, 2005.

  1. ISO9002

    ISO9002 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2005
    Messages:
    249
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    townhouse, usa
    But the sound quality has dramatically dropped a lot. Pioneer really is something huh...should I put some nice speakers? I dont like a big amp in the back of my tC, so maybe just a small 10 amp?

    Please advice! :bowdown:
     
  2. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    the Pioneer double-din in the tC has an internal amp that is pretty good. The whole system (including speakers) is tuned to work together for optimal sound. I had the same dilema in my Tundra... And let me tell you that unless you want to invest a LOT of money and time (or even more money, in leu of time) and then sacrifice lots of space for amps/subs, then you're better off not messing with the stock 'yota premium systems... They're pretty good.
     
  3. ISO9002

    ISO9002 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2005
    Messages:
    249
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    townhouse, usa
    Yea, now I realized my stock Pioneer is great, but I need to have the Navi. Too late to get the AVIC-D1, since I figured the Pioneer would be capable to have that same great sound quality as the stock one. So you suggest me better not to do anything at all?
     
  4. DaddyThirdLeg

    DaddyThirdLeg SMASH puny humans

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2001
    Messages:
    3,258
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Canada
    it's not that it was a pioneer, it's because its been eq'd (non adjustable) to sound good (bassy) at low-mid volumes and not distort higher volumes
     
  5. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    No, I don't mean that... And brand means nothing, in this case.

    Bottom line:

    If you change ANY of these items : Head Unit / Amp / Speakers, then you should change ALL of them.

    The only exception is if you KEEP all three of those, but add a sub for better low-end extension.

    In my tundra, I'm taking the 2nd option... Putting a JL 10W1-4, under the rear seat.
     
  6. veonake

    veonake OnT poster, OT lurker

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2004
    Messages:
    4,235
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    NYC
    Uhh, your Eclipse doesn't sound as good because you probably don't have the inverse bell curve eq you had on your Pioneer, and it is meant to have an external amplifier. Pioneer is not a better brand than Eclipse, but there are one or two who might disagree. Put in a decent amp and you'll be set.
     
  7. MacAlert

    MacAlert Maxima driver OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2003
    Messages:
    318
    Likes Received:
    0
    I had the same problem when I changed out my HU for an Eclipse (running stock speakers). The sound dropped a lot. Now I have a amp and all new speakers. You CAN have a full system and yet still keep the majority of the space in the back of your car. If you do plan on getting a system, find a sub that doesn't require much volume so you can run a smaller box (albeit the sound wont be as great).
     
  8. veonake

    veonake OnT poster, OT lurker

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2004
    Messages:
    4,235
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    NYC
    Smaller box size does not equal degradation in sound quality. The Eclipse units probably don't put out as much RMS power as the Pioneer did. This is because they are designed to drive an external amp. I look at the internal amp as a temporary solution. So, when you turn the volume up to where you probably had the Pioneer, the amp is clipping making things sound bad.
     
  9. MacAlert

    MacAlert Maxima driver OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2003
    Messages:
    318
    Likes Received:
    0
    I didn't mean degradation in sound quality. You just won't get as much thump as you would with a sub with larger volume.
     
  10. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    wrong again. It all depends on the sub. Some work well with less airspace, some require lots of it. A given sub is going to work best in it's ideal airspace... One sub may work better in 1 cu.ft. than another sub in 2 cu.ft.
     
  11. Ronin

    Ronin Guest

  12. ledzep73

    ledzep73 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2005
    Messages:
    6,868
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Louisville
    Its worth it to get a W3, or Alpine Type-R instead.
     
  13. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    first of all, the Alpine Type-R is crap compared to the W1. Secondly, a W3 will not fit.
     
  14. ledzep73

    ledzep73 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2005
    Messages:
    6,868
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Louisville

    :doh: I was thinking you wanted a W0. I still wouldn't say a Type-R is crap next to a W1. They are comparable.
     
  15. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    considering that a W1 will sound a little better than the Type-R, and it does so with HALF the power... I say that's a win for the W1 ;)

    But anyway, the W1 was one of the few subs that was even shallow enough (4.5" mounting depth) to fit my application. :cool:

    Plus I already had a JL e1200 monoblock which happens to be PERFECT for a W1... It was a win-win situation :)
     
  16. ledzep73

    ledzep73 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2005
    Messages:
    6,868
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Louisville
    Well cool then. Glad you found something for your truck :bigthumb:
     
  17. DaddyThirdLeg

    DaddyThirdLeg SMASH puny humans

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2001
    Messages:
    3,258
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Canada
    w1 might sound better then a type R but won't get as loud, hell a w3 won't get as loud
     
  18. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    I guarantee that a W1 with 125W will get louder (and sound a fuckload better) than a TypeR with 125W.
     
  19. DaddyThirdLeg

    DaddyThirdLeg SMASH puny humans

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2001
    Messages:
    3,258
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Canada
    but why would anyone give a type R 125 watts?
     
  20. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    I ALREADY OWN THE JL e1200 MONOBLOCK!!!!
     
  21. DaddyThirdLeg

    DaddyThirdLeg SMASH puny humans

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2001
    Messages:
    3,258
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Canada
    so then you could give a type R 200 watts
     
  22. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    and what is the mounting depth? Must be 4.5" or less.
     
  23. Ronin

    Ronin Guest

    the mounting depth of a 10 inch type R would be about 6 inches good sir
     
  24. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    that's what I figured ;)
     
  25. veonake

    veonake OnT poster, OT lurker

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2004
    Messages:
    4,235
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    NYC
    I'd take a JL Wx over a type r any day, regardless of mounting depth.
     

Share This Page