Too Much Cardio?

Discussion in 'Fitness & Nutrition' started by klintdog, Feb 4, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. klintdog

klintdog Resident Lurker

Hey Folks,
    This is my first post here in F&N, I've been lurking for a while and thought it was time. I'm currently in the process of trying to get myself into shape and try to lose some weight. I'm currently 6'5 and am weighing in at 308 lbs. My initial goal is to get down to 275.

I've started goign to the gym and trying to get active. Since I graduated from school I've pretty much just spent the last 2 years sitting on my butt at work and have put on about 20 some pounds.

So far I've been doing the following:
    Walk/Jog 1-2 miles around the indoor track at our club (5 days a week)
    30 minutes on the recumbant bike at level 10 (heart rate at 140-155) The bike is saying I'm burning around 300 when I do this. (5 days a week)
    Basketball around 1-2 times a week as well.

I've also changed my eating habits around. I've cut all snack food and soda out of my diet and have started eating breakfast (Quaker instant oatmeal or Special K).

I know I should incorporate some weights into this mix, but I want to get my knees back in shape before I jump in too deep.

Do you guys have any advice on what I can do to help this out? I've been doing it for about 2 weeks and haven't dropped a pound.

Any help would definitly be appreciated.

(cliffs - I'm fat and just started working out 2 weeks ago. Been doing lots of cardio, no weights, haven't dropped a pound, need advice)

2. Piracy

Piracy New Member

what's your diet like? i know you said you cut out sodas and such, but how many calories do you take in? My change of diet has been almost solely responsible for my weight loss. (45 lbs since october, but i'm on 1500 cal diet b/c i was so fat)