Too many processes running?

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by Lateralus, Apr 18, 2005.

  1. Lateralus

    Lateralus New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2001
    Messages:
    5,953
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Midwest
    [​IMG]

    34 total, which ones can I kill and how do I make it so they don't restart with windows?
     
  2. snowmann79

    snowmann79 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2005
    Messages:
    47
    Likes Received:
    0
    I would also like to know, i have 53 running..please help!!!!
     
  3. Lateralus

    Lateralus New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2001
    Messages:
    5,953
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Midwest
    Holy shit post a screen shot I can probably tell you atleast a few to cancel. I just wasn't sure about some of the system processes myself.
     
  4. monolith

    monolith My soul grows ever weary and the end is ever near. OT Supporter

    Joined:
    May 9, 2004
    Messages:
    32,560
    Likes Received:
    247
    Location:
    Southern California
  5. snowmann79

    snowmann79 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2005
    Messages:
    47
    Likes Received:
    0
    How do you do a screen shot?
     
  6. monolith

    monolith My soul grows ever weary and the end is ever near. OT Supporter

    Joined:
    May 9, 2004
    Messages:
    32,560
    Likes Received:
    247
    Location:
    Southern California
    Ctrl + Print Screen
     
  7. snowmann79

    snowmann79 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2005
    Messages:
    47
    Likes Received:
    0
    once i push ctrl and prt screen then what. i pushed it a couple times and nothing....
     
  8. VoOdOoVyPeR

    VoOdOoVyPeR New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2004
    Messages:
    564
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Pimpin' All Over The World
    lol, u dont have to push control, u can just press prnt screen. after u do that, correct, nothing will happen. open any art program that u have, i use photoshop, then click file and then new. it will automatically have the resoulution set to the "copied" picture (your screenshot). after it opens, go to edit then click paste, theres ur screen shot. then use the marquee tool to crop just the process list out of it then save it as a "jpeg" file so it saves space and upload time.
     
  9. VoOdOoVyPeR

    VoOdOoVyPeR New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2004
    Messages:
    564
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Pimpin' All Over The World
    that website stinks btw. it has nothing, i have a great application that has a whole lost of processes and what they are, if anybody wants it, my AIM is VoOdoOVyPeR
     
  10. james99654

    james99654 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2004
    Messages:
    1,038
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Marietta, GA
    Well, to find out if they are good or bad processes, just simply go into google and then type in the process name in order to find out whether they are good or bad.

    Then to find where the processes are go to start, run then type "regedit" and hit enter. There you will see the computers registry and then go to H_KEY_LOCAL USERS then go to software, microsoft, windows, startup, run. (or something like that im not 100% sure, since I can name the places off the top of my head) and you will see the processes that you have that will start when windows starts. And to get rid of them simply delete the entry and save it. And the next time that you start windows the processes will be gone.

    Problem solved. haha.
     
  11. VoOdOoVyPeR

    VoOdOoVyPeR New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2004
    Messages:
    564
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Pimpin' All Over The World
    whats the mysterious blank entry in the msconfig startup thing. it just shows up out of nowhere, its checked, and theres no name or location, its just blank.
     
  12. snowmann79

    snowmann79 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2005
    Messages:
    47
    Likes Received:
    0
    what do all the users names mean: local service,system,owner,network service
     
  13. Grimreefer

    Grimreefer Life Sucks ... and then you Die

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2005
    Messages:
    716
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Miami, FL
    just open up paint and hit cntrl + V
     
  14. Weiner

    Weiner New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2004
    Messages:
    38,611
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
  15. Hey Fella

    Hey Fella New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2004
    Messages:
    1,416
    Likes Received:
    0
    anyone want to help me out??

    [​IMG]
     
  16. aphoric

    aphoric Even if god did exist, it would be necessary to ab

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2003
    Messages:
    918
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Leaving Afghanistan
    snip
    hitting ctrl makes it grab just the window instead of the whole screen so you don't have to crop it. So unless you like having to edit that shit, ctrl-prnt scrn is happy.
     
  17. SugarCoatedSour

    SugarCoatedSour OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2004
    Messages:
    53,663
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Glenview, IL
    From the looks of it, the only extras are the applications that you have running. I've got about the same amount, only 2 or 3 are for items running in the background for apps. Your list looks like it's in good shape to me.
     
  18. Lateralus

    Lateralus New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2001
    Messages:
    5,953
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Midwest
    Good I wasn't sure a friend of mine said he had like 20 total running at all times. I just didn't understand how that was possible with all the shit XP runs in the background. It was never slowing me down due to having 1G of RAM but I'm a perfectionist when it comes to my computer.
     
  19. SugarCoatedSour

    SugarCoatedSour OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2004
    Messages:
    53,663
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Glenview, IL
    Yeah, I know you feel, man. There have been times where something's shown up that I've never seen before, and proceeded to format without a second thought.

    Those days are less frequent now, thankfully.
     
  20. Hey Fella

    Hey Fella New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2004
    Messages:
    1,416
    Likes Received:
    0
    .
     
  21. Lateralus

    Lateralus New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2001
    Messages:
    5,953
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Midwest
    Restart your computer, close any programs you have running in the background. Then open up the task manager and start typing the exact names of processes into google and stop what is not needed.
     
  22. VoOdOoVyPeR

    VoOdOoVyPeR New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2004
    Messages:
    564
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Pimpin' All Over The World
    you have stupid things running in the bg that are very obvious, and looks as though you, at some point, set them to that yourself. like "winampa.exe" thats winamp, id think ud know if thats running, there'd be a icon in the system tray. msnmsgr.exe, we all know what that is, undoubtedly you do too. if ur gunna post a screen shot, close all the crap that you know of. if ur complaining you have too many processes running, well then go in to msconfig, the startup tab, and just uncheck them. some those .exe's up there don't take a rocket scientist to figure out. like "steam.exe" you don't need that open all the time unless you constantly play half life and its of dire importance to you.
     
  23. EagerZeroedThick

    EagerZeroedThick New Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2002
    Messages:
    5,971
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    In a blade enclosure near you
    msconfig --> startup tab
    uncheck the processes you dont want to automatically start
     
  24. EagerZeroedThick

    EagerZeroedThick New Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2002
    Messages:
    5,971
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    In a blade enclosure near you
    im running 40 processes....but with 768meg of ram i dont notice any lag
     

Share This Page