Too many icons on desktop

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by yoloo, Oct 24, 2004.

  1. yoloo

    yoloo hi

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2001
    Messages:
    62
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    what happens if you have too many icons on your desktop? do scroll bars pop up and u can scroll left and right?
     
  2. Light Speed

    Light Speed Guest

    I doubt the scroll bar thing since it isn't a window. I'd say there is probably a set amount and after you complete the amount it wont let you add more. :dunno: that's my guess.
     
  3. Shampoo

    Shampoo Rinse & Repost

    Joined:
    May 5, 2004
    Messages:
    60,183
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    California
    I've had too many icons before, there are no scrollbars. Remove some then arrange icons to see the rest.
     
  4. skybreaker

    skybreaker Guest

    if your desktop is filled up with icons and you want to add more, you won't be able to see the new ones.

    just grab some icons and put them into a new folder on the desktop. that will tidy up things a little bit.
     
  5. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    I have 4 icons on my desktop, 1 for the boot drive, 1 for my raid array, 1 for my apps, and my recycle bin.... you need nothing else.
     
  6. CompiledMonkey

    CompiledMonkey New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2001
    Messages:
    8,528
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Richmond, VA
    Do this:

    Ctrl + A then hit Enter.

    :mamoru:
     
  7. Rob

    Rob OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2002
    Messages:
    88,624
    Likes Received:
    40
    Location:
    Atlanta, GA
    You are gonna kill his system. :o
     
  8. Light Speed

    Light Speed Guest

    would this actually start all the programs? :eek3: :eek3:
     
  9. CompiledMonkey

    CompiledMonkey New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2001
    Messages:
    8,528
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Richmond, VA
    :big grin:
     
  10. Penguin Man

    Penguin Man Protect Your Digital Liberties

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2002
    Messages:
    21,696
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Edmonton, AB
    [​IMG]

    Those are the only icons on my desktop, and the only ones I ever use are OpenOffice and Firefox.
     
  11. yoloo

    yoloo hi

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2001
    Messages:
    62
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    heh; i dun have that many icons. i was just curious... what happens. and you answered it. wont be able to see them.
     
  12. yoloo

    yoloo hi

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2001
    Messages:
    62
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    hehe. never thought of that before. actually gives you a warning message: opening x shortcuts will slow your shit down. you want to continue?
     
  13. 01000101

    01000101 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2003
    Messages:
    642
    Likes Received:
    0
    i have no icons on my desktop at all. everything i need is on the start menu or the taskbar. it looks too cluttered having icons.
     
  14. Light Speed

    Light Speed Guest

    I understand tidy, but come on, peer pressure made you take them all off? :greddy:
    I'd rather click an icon than go to start, then programs...
     
  15. 01000101

    01000101 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2003
    Messages:
    642
    Likes Received:
    0
    peer pressure? who else sees my computer? i find it more asthetically pleasing to have a clear screen. thanks for sharing your opinion.
     
  16. Penguin Man

    Penguin Man Protect Your Digital Liberties

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2002
    Messages:
    21,696
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Edmonton, AB
    :werd: For things I don't use all the time, I don't mind grabbing them from the menu, but for Firefox and OpenOffice I like to have them on my desktop since I use them all the time. My mail program is opened when I double-click my mail checking applet.
     
  17. 2nz

    2nz lurker.

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2004
    Messages:
    192
    Likes Received:
    0
    I don't show any icons on my desktop.. I either use a dock program or the quick launch bar. :)
     
  18. badguy106

    badguy106 Location:Tn

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2004
    Messages:
    809
    Likes Received:
    0
    no icons here either. quick launch and taskbar only. looks better.
     
  19. lenz

    lenz New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2004
    Messages:
    518
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    █████
    Use Windows FX, and put icons on desktop to list view. You can chuck on a shitload more i guess.
     

Share This Page