SRS Tomorrow will be 6 years that Dad has been dead

Discussion in 'On Topic' started by TheOutlawTorn, Jun 23, 2006.

1. TheOutlawTorn

TheOutlawTorn New Consequence Machine

It never gets any fucking easier. I didn't realize why I'd been in a funk until I noticed the date. This year going to try something different. Instead of going up there seperate from my brother, we're going to go together. I guess we're so used to having our own private time with him like we used to when he was alive that it makes it hard. This year though, it's time to come together....:sadwavey:

2. Matt2000ss

Matt2000ss OT Supporter

My dad died in when i graduated HS in 97. I still think about him alot. It DOES get easier. You'll always miss him and never stop thinking about him the same amount, but you'll catch yourself remembering things more with a smile, rather then sadness.

At least thats how things have been with me.

3. KatWoman

KatWoman •••••••••••

:hug:

My dad's been gone 11 years now. He died during finals week when I was in college, 1 semester away from finishing my AA. My mom remarried a few years ago and we've all moved on, but not forgotten. He died on May 8, so every year around that time I get moody...even if I am not specifically thinking about or remembering things. This was the first year though where the anniversary date came and went and I didn't realize it til 3-4 days later. We weren't always close, but it was still hard to watch my mom go through the grieving process :hs:

4. MapleLeaf

MapleLeaf New Member

For many people the grieving process will continue for the rest of their lives.

That is ok, only when it takes over your life is it an issue.

Honour your father however you wish, and for as many years as you wish.

Blessings,
    MapleLeaf

5. HardTech

HardTech hungry

yeah, my grandma passed away over 7 years now... it's hard in the beginning, but now I'm glad I had the chance to grow up with her.