to q6600 or not to q6600??

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by GooeyGus, Jan 7, 2008.

  1. GooeyGus

    GooeyGus I has Laz0rz.

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2006
    Messages:
    1,618
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Marysville, WA
    So I built a system a few months ago, and its fine and everything but I have a little extra cash sitting around and I'm debating maybe changing my proc/mobo.

    Right now my system is as follows:

    AMD x2 5000+ black edition @ 3.2ghz
    gigabyte mobo
    2gb ram
    sapphire HD3870

    Sooo... as it sits right now the system is pretty solid and performs well, but i went bargain on the cpu because I was broke at the time. I'm still blown away at the performance of the cpu I have considering it was only $125 but it will also be outdated very very shortly.

    I think the q6600 will give me some longevity as far as being one of the better performing processors for a while.

    What do you guys think?? It will cost ~400 for me to switch over. pull the trigger??
     
  2. crontab

    crontab (uid = 0)

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2000
    Messages:
    23,441
    Likes Received:
    12
    if your current machine suits you fine for now, wait. the yorkfield is delayed until march.

    by then we'll see if they are a better oc-er than the Q6600.

    i just built a q6600 machine myself. most of it.
     
  3. DAN513

    DAN513 OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2003
    Messages:
    10,089
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    204
    if it's 400 bucks and you have money to burn, then do it, otherwise use what you have now till it no longer does what you need. The cost of the Q6600 or a board for it won't be going up.
     
  4. Chris

    Chris New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2003
    Messages:
    14,711
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Texas on my mind
    it will only cost you about $250 if you sell me the Black Edition and mobo
     
  5. GooeyGus

    GooeyGus I has Laz0rz.

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2006
    Messages:
    1,618
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Marysville, WA
    I thought about selling them.... But then I decided that I have enough spare parts for a nice HTPC so I might as well throw one together :bigthumb:
     
  6. Doc Brown

    Doc Brown Don't make me make you my hobby

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2006
    Messages:
    16,404
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ohio
  7. GooeyGus

    GooeyGus I has Laz0rz.

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2006
    Messages:
    1,618
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Marysville, WA
    the HD3870 is (for the most part) on par with the older 8800gts 640, and barely behind the new 8800gt 512, and costs like $70 less which is why I bought it. I dont do too much hardcore gaming, and it runs like 120fps in WoW with full aa and af at 1680x1050.
     
  8. Doc Brown

    Doc Brown Don't make me make you my hobby

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2006
    Messages:
    16,404
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ohio
    I've seen reviews showing the 3870 to be as much as 10% slower than the new 8800gt.
    http://www.legionhardware.com/document.php?id=703&p=0

    And the new 8800gts is a good step faster than the 8800gt.
    http://www.techarp.com/showarticle.aspx?artno=483&pgno=5






    :dunno:
     
  9. Harry Caray

    Harry Caray Fine purveyor of x.264, h.264 & TS HD-Video !!! HD

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2001
    Messages:
    17,176
    Likes Received:
    5
    Location:
    MyCrews:4x4,SoCal,Tesla,EV's
    I agree with most in this as well. Why r u dumping the system? You are pretty much at the top of the AMD line, albeit not Intel's but for gaming, your vid card is the limiting factor...

    But again, just another OT'er that can't save cash for 3-4 months.:mamoru:

    If you REALLY must though, just get a 6600 for $199 at Fry's (they'll be on sale later this week or next) and then get a nice DS3 board or something..

    If you must:rolleyes:
     
  10. Doc Brown

    Doc Brown Don't make me make you my hobby

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2006
    Messages:
    16,404
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ohio
    Well the E6550 is clocked just a tick slower than the E6600 for less money.
    $170 shipped at newegg right now.
    But I agree, one of those and a DS3 board. Then push it up to around 3ghz-3.2ghz.
     
  11. lowfat

    lowfat 24/Mac/SciFi/PC Crew OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2003
    Messages:
    63,949
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Grande Prairie, AB, Can
    E8x00s are just around the corner. Starting @ 2.66GHz for sub-$200, seems like a good time to wait. IMO quad's still aren't nessessary.
     
  12. Doc Brown

    Doc Brown Don't make me make you my hobby

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2006
    Messages:
    16,404
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ohio
    Yep. I just finished a P35 DS4/Q6600 build and I am under-impressed.

    I was running an E6600 build before that though, so I didn't expect a huge difference anyway.
     
  13. Harry Caray

    Harry Caray Fine purveyor of x.264, h.264 & TS HD-Video !!! HD

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2001
    Messages:
    17,176
    Likes Received:
    5
    Location:
    MyCrews:4x4,SoCal,Tesla,EV's
    :werd:

    6550's make nice gaming chips and tend to go higher then Q6600's because of not having another 2 cpu's to worry about OC'ing... (but 3-3.2 is still the safe zone)

    $159 is the sale price for Fry's coming up.. or other places, but again, that L2 makes all the difference over the AMD ;)
     
  14. GooeyGus

    GooeyGus I has Laz0rz.

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2006
    Messages:
    1,618
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Marysville, WA
    The L2 is the thing i'm mostly looking at. In comparison, the 5000+ cache is tiny. 1mb (512x2).

    Also, another reason behind a possible new build is that my room mate doesn't have a computer at all and i'm sick of him jerkin off (most likely...) in my computer chair :ugh:

    SOOO... I was thinking of putting this cpu/mobo in a spare case with a hard drive and let him use it. I mean, you can never really have too many computers. Or I was thinking of putting together my old socket A (2.2ghz 2800+ with radeon 9800 pro) for him to use since he just browses the internet and use my current machine on the plasma/lcd tv I intend on buying in the next month or so.

    So many options :wtc:
     
  15. Doc Brown

    Doc Brown Don't make me make you my hobby

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2006
    Messages:
    16,404
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ohio
    I seem to always have too many options to consider. Makes for a big headache until the project is over. But firing up a new build is always a blast.

    It sounds to me that the best near term solution is to get the old gear up and running. Especially since your main build is so solid. That gives you time to see what falls into place when the next gen Intel stuff comes out this spring.
     
  16. etech

    etech New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2002
    Messages:
    4,660
    Likes Received:
    0

    [​IMG]
     
  17. r1dd1ck

    r1dd1ck New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2007
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    That has more to do with a completely different core design than anything else. Athlons need less l2 cache because they use a hypertransport layer, it is not something that can be compared apples to apples at all.
     
  18. GooeyGus

    GooeyGus I has Laz0rz.

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2006
    Messages:
    1,618
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Marysville, WA
    Well I pulled the trigger last night... Ordered a q6600 along with a GA-P35-DS3L :naughty:
     
  19. DAN513

    DAN513 OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2003
    Messages:
    10,089
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    204
    I forsee a Q9450 in my future...
     
  20. Doc Brown

    Doc Brown Don't make me make you my hobby

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2006
    Messages:
    16,404
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ohio

    I can't wait to see what that's going to do for the pricing on older cpu models.

    :eek3:
     
  21. Harry Caray

    Harry Caray Fine purveyor of x.264, h.264 & TS HD-Video !!! HD

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2001
    Messages:
    17,176
    Likes Received:
    5
    Location:
    MyCrews:4x4,SoCal,Tesla,EV's
    That's why a AMD 6400x2 (@ 3.2 stock) get WALKED all over by a E6550 (that sits at 3.2) :mamoru:

    Or AMD's FLAGSHIP now gets walked all over by a STOCK 2.4ghz Q6600 :mamoru::mamoru::mamoru:
     
  22. etech

    etech New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2002
    Messages:
    4,660
    Likes Received:
    0
    Probably nothing.

    From what I have seen Intel doesn't discount or even perhaps allow discounting of older processors.

    example
    Intel Core 2 Duo E6600 Conroe 2.4GHz $234.99
    Intel Core 2 Duo E6750 Conroe 2.66GHz $189.99

    E6600 is older, slower and priced at or even higher then what it has been.


    The E8400 is just about going to obsolete most of the mid Conroe line imo.
     
  23. Doc Brown

    Doc Brown Don't make me make you my hobby

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2006
    Messages:
    16,404
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ohio
    E6600 was originally $330. The price came down a hundred bucks when the most recent new Core cpu's came out.
     

Share This Page