To Make Or To Buy? That is the question

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by thesuperlurker, Mar 2, 2003.

1. thesuperlurker

thesuperlurker yes i know i have few posts... you arent the first

Well my old video card burned out so i decided it was just time to get a new computer. Now I am faced with the important question of to make or to buy. I am currently happy with my mouse, keyboard, monitor, sound card, speakers, and cd drive. This makes it difficult to choose what to do. I'm watching dell just in case they have a good deal come out because my monitor could use upgrading and they are giving out free ones sometimes. I want a computer I can play most games on, it doesnt have to be the best graphics the games have to offer. I'm looking to spend I hope less than $600 to do this but can go over.

As for what I had in mind to make I thought of the following so far (keep in mind i have little practical knowledge and will rely on help from friends family to put together so im not sure if these choices are good.)

CPU: AMD XP 2200 $117 (w/ retail heatsink and fan)

Motherboard: ECS L7TAVIA KT400 $78.00 (I know nothing about motherboards but this has agp8x)

Video Card: Radeon 9500 128mb $156

Case: Lite-on Model#7615 (silver) 400 w $53.00

HD: Dont know yet probably 40 gig

RAM: I dont know what to match with mb advice?

Now i got these prices from newegg except for the radeon which i took the price form pricewatch. Basicly I'm trying to make a system based on the xp2200 and the radeon 9500. The other stuff i just dont know what to do.

So any input on my system is appreciated. Also any input on buying a complete system would be good too. I know theres other threads but they all have bigger budgets than me or go the Pentium rout. So any help is really appreciated. Sorry so long and remember i want to stay as close to $600 as possible (though now i realize its goin over that just with my planned system)

THANKS AGAIN

2. Slimmy

Slimmy Get Richt or Die Trying