To buy, or not to buy... Help me out OT

Discussion in 'OT Driven' started by ha\/0k, Feb 22, 2007.

1. ha\/0k

ha\/0k Resident Enginerd

Alright guys here's my dilemma... I'm a sophomore in college, and I'd really like to get a bike. I'll be co-opping for the spring and summer this year, so I should be able to afford one soon.

The problem: The parents are totally against it for safety reasons. I'm very laid back - I'm not gonna do anything stupid, and they know that, they're worried about everyone else on the road. I understand their concern, but I go to school in a college town in the middle of nowhere, there's not a whole lot of traffic if you avoid happy hour, and plenty of windy backroads to learn on.

I'm not looking for a 1000cc beast, I'd be taking the MSF, and I'd have the best gear. I've told them all of this. My dad simply sees it as a physics problem, big car + little bike = hospital. I understand there are risks, that's life.

If I were completely on my own I'd be all over it, but I have to take into consideration that they really help me out a lot with school. If I went out and did it they wouldn't stop helping, but I'm not sure if I should pull that - I respect their opinion.

Whatcha guys think? Do it? Don't do it? Why?? :)

2. Original

Original OT Supporter

Was just in your position, all I need is money :cool:

I say, if you can afford it, do it! I'm sure your parents are much less worried about you making a mistake.. and more worried about the million cagers out there ready to run us over. Show your parents why you're responsible enough to ride! Most parents think the MSF is just something to teach us how to ride, but it's more about showing you what to do when bad situations come at you. They need to know that you're ready for anything coming your way.

Learn to ride, buy the gear.. and get the bike! :wavey:

It's not like you're out there on a Busa with a t-shirt and shorts :hs:

3. cellphone

cellphone Must not sleep.....