Tivo problems

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by durbs, Apr 11, 2007.

  1. durbs

    durbs New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2006
    Messages:
    226
    Likes Received:
    0
    I recently got a Tivo series 2 (TCD5400080) and need some info . I have already opened the Tivo up and have try to install instantcake to a 200G drive. What does it take to get the wireless working and get around subscription? :x:
     
  2. retorq

    retorq What up bitch??

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2006
    Messages:
    6,061
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Mohave Desert
    I was given one from a friend, they gave me the USB wiresless apadter, it worked on their setup. I understand you need to DL some update to get that to work though . . .

    Not sure about the subscription thing, kinda interested in that myself. :big grin:
     
  3. negative zero

    negative zero New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2003
    Messages:
    6,328
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    the Watchtower
    I put a 320GB on mine using instantcake. Do you have a question about it?

    As far as wireless, I have the tivo brand USB adapter and it runs fine using my linksys router with no major issues.

    As far as using the box without a subscription, it can't be done. At least from everything I've read it is not possible.
     
  4. retorq

    retorq What up bitch??

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2006
    Messages:
    6,061
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Mohave Desert
    Can you use the box manually without a subscription?? I can press record and play it back later, right??
     
  5. Sexual Vanilla

    Sexual Vanilla New Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2005
    Messages:
    6,305
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    South Carolina
    Just curious...what subscription?
     
  6. negative zero

    negative zero New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2003
    Messages:
    6,328
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    the Watchtower
    from everything I have read over at the tivo forums, no. On some of the early S1 boxes this was possible but supposedly tivo has this feature disabled in the S2/S3.
     

Share This Page