WEB Tips to stop site scrapers?

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by autox, May 23, 2009.

  1. autox

    autox OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2002
    Messages:
    98,750
    Likes Received:
    437
    Ive been adding text to my feed, but they keep editing it so its barely worth my time. I know I can't stop them without turning off my feed, but I sure as shit want to make a little more work for them. Any tips?
     
  2. ge0

    ge0 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2005
    Messages:
    8,398
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    JERSEY
    This is gonna hurt your SEO but put the FEED in a ajax loader so it loads a few seconds after the page loads.
     
  3. autox

    autox OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2002
    Messages:
    98,750
    Likes Received:
    437
    I use feedburner, can I even do that?
     
  4. smithkl

    smithkl New Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2009
    Messages:
    122
    Likes Received:
    0
    Better than stopping them, add some code on the bottom linking to the post you just made. Free backlinks, even if they are crap, are never bad.
     
  5. blinger

    blinger Guest

    :cool:
     
  6. autox

    autox OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2002
    Messages:
    98,750
    Likes Received:
    437
    they seem to be able to remove certain things if its regular. So I can do shit like that if I change it up a lot, but its hardly worth that much effort
     
  7. smithkl

    smithkl New Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2009
    Messages:
    122
    Likes Received:
    0
    Are they hotlinking to your images as well? If so usually replacing one of them with goatse a couple of times will make them give up. Consider sending DMCA takedown notices if you haven't yet.
     
  8. JesterFX

    JesterFX New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2004
    Messages:
    4,557
    Likes Received:
    0
    Maybe change the link position randomly? Not sure what they are using the strip the links but maybe you can fool them.

    Are you doing full post or limiting the feed?

    Tried adding ad code to the feeds? Something like ebay or something that's related to the post. Then at least they are displaying your adds too lol. Until they start stripping that too.
     
  9. autox

    autox OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2002
    Messages:
    98,750
    Likes Received:
    437
    running adsense feed ads, but they seem to strip them out. IIve been mixing it up, as long as I leave the text on the post long enough (an hour at the most) it shows up on their site. Thats about all I can do at this point I think. I dont want to limit the feed, Ive always given full post :hs:
     
  10. Swift

    Swift http://www.bounceweb.com

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2007
    Messages:
    668
    Likes Received:
    0
  11. CyberBullets

    CyberBullets I reach to the sky, and call out your name. If I c

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2001
    Messages:
    11,865
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    BC, Canada/Stockholm, Sweden
    Check out user agents to see if they are running something that isn't Firefox/IE/Opera. It won't stop them if they change it, but it's a start.
     
  12. 07

    07 18-1

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2006
    Messages:
    4,933
    Likes Received:
    0
    If it were me... Interlink posts, use related posts plugins, and don't post the entire feed.

    You can also DMCA Google AND the host/domain registar
     
  13. autox

    autox OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2002
    Messages:
    98,750
    Likes Received:
    437
    I looked into that real quick a while ago I think I have to mail a bunch of shit to them to do that. It seemed like a pain in the ass, but it might come to that
     
  14. 07

    07 18-1

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2006
    Messages:
    4,933
    Likes Received:
    0

    Pfff. I have had some company do it to me twice to Google. (2 separate domains) Google de-indexed my entire domain literally in a few days. (trademark infringement.)

    Hosts and Registrars have DMCA specific email addresses.

    Just do it, if not, rape it to your advantage.
     
  15. CrazyInteg

    CrazyInteg Honda-Acura.net OG

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2000
    Messages:
    12,205
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    Omaha
    What's the problem here? You're putting your webpage out for the public to view. But now you want to limit who can view that? It sounds like you need some authorization on your pages to stop users who shouldn't have access. Or just ban IPs, that's what we do.

    I guess I really don't understand what the problem is here.
     
  16. tryfuhl

    tryfuhl New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2003
    Messages:
    75,450
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    MD/DC Metro
    pm ebtek and tell him to stop
     
  17. tryfuhl

    tryfuhl New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2003
    Messages:
    75,450
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    MD/DC Metro
    there's a diff between viewing and stealing
     
  18. autox

    autox OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2002
    Messages:
    98,750
    Likes Received:
    437
    .
    redistributing my content with their ads
     
  19. CrazyInteg

    CrazyInteg Honda-Acura.net OG

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2000
    Messages:
    12,205
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    Omaha
    oh wow. I guess you need to contact their host? Or contact a lawyer to have them send a cease and desist letter. Good luck with that. I didn't think you were talking about something so blatant.
     
  20. JesterFX

    JesterFX New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2004
    Messages:
    4,557
    Likes Received:
    0
    :rofl:
     

Share This Page