Time Warner DVR

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by bimmer95m3, Sep 28, 2005.

  1. bimmer95m3

    bimmer95m3 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2004
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    If I were to purchase a second dvr/cable box and hook it up in my room, would it work??? I already have digital cable from Time Warner hooked up in the living room w/ DVR already. Thanks
     
  2. ucfgreek

    ucfgreek I am the Feta OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2003
    Messages:
    272
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Orlando, FL
    call the cable company from a friends house and ask?
     
  3. MUDFISH

    MUDFISH New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2003
    Messages:
    12,898
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Syracuse
    you can do it, I think they charge something like an extra $8 though.
     
  4. MacAlert

    MacAlert Maxima driver OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2003
    Messages:
    318
    Likes Received:
    0
    You are only allowed ONE DVR box per household. Calling from a friends house?....you're friend would have to pay an additional 8.95 per month for the DVR service (i think its only 6.95 per box for standard digital cable).
     
  5. GlocksRock

    GlocksRock Glock > You

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2003
    Messages:
    6,647
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    North Carolina
    why only one dvr per house, that is gay.
     
  6. Trevor Reznik

    Trevor Reznik New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2005
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    0
    My father-in-law and brother-in-law both have 2 DVRs in their house. The second one just costs tham an additional $8 or so a month.
     
  7. XR250rdr

    XR250rdr OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2004
    Messages:
    24,479
    Likes Received:
    21
    Location:
    Ca
    Just call TW and ask. Its not like they're going to cancel your service or anything for asking a question.

    If you mean you want to buy a 3rd party cable box and use it; I believe you can do it, but you have to register the box with TW so they can activate the service on it.
     
  8. MacAlert

    MacAlert Maxima driver OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2003
    Messages:
    318
    Likes Received:
    0
    I don't know, I asked Time Warner if I could get 2 DVR boxes. They said they only allow one per household.


    Looks like they changed their limits, I can't find anything on their site now.
     

Share This Page